Skip to main content

Damien Moore A Doak Walker Award Preseason Candidate

Jul 20, 2022
Damien Moore has been selected as a preseason candidate for the Doak Walker Award given annually to the nation's top running back for the first time in his career.

DALLAS – Cal's Damien Moore was named a preseason candidate for the Doak Walker Award on Wednesday for the first time in his career when the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced its selections. The award is given annually to the nation's top college running back.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name 10 semifinalists for the award named in honor of SMU's three-time All-American running back Doak Walker in November and three finalists later the same month as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee. The committee will cast a second vote in December to determine the recipient and the winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards show.

Below are notes on Moore with an extended bio available by clicking on his name.
Damien Moore, RB, 5-10, 215, Jr., 3rd Season At Cal (La Puente, CA/Bishop Amat HS)
— Has been named a Doak Walker Award preseason candidate and earned Athlon third-team preseason All-Pac-12 honors prior to his 2022 junior campaign
— Has played in 15 career games with eight starts over the last two campaigns since his arrival at Cal in 2020 and totaled 712 yards rushing and six touchdowns on the ground on 138 carries while adding 14 receptions for 95 yards and one touchdown receiving to total 807 all-purpose yards
— Had career highs as a 2021 sophomore in games played (11), games started (8), yards rushing (518), rushes (100), rushing touchdowns (6), total touchdowns (7), receptions (13), yards receiving (85) and touchdown receptions (1)
— Earned honorable mention recognition for Pac-12 Freshman Offensive Player of the Year, presented by Nextiva, when he was one of three Cal true freshmen along with Muelu Iosefa and Trey Paster to play in all four games of a 2020 season shortened by COVID-19, with all of his appearances off the bench
The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit and @NCFAA on Twitter to learn more about the association.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 15-day period this month. Sixteen of the association's 25 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.  

Following is the complete 2022 NCFAA preseason watch list calendar.
Monday, July 18: Maxwell Award
Tuesday, July 19: Davey O'Brien Award
Wednesday, July 20: Doak Walker Award
Thursday, July 21: Biletnikoff Award
Friday, July 22: John Mackey Award, Rimington Trophy
Monday, July 25: Butkus Award & Paycom Jim Thorpe Award
Tuesday, July 26: Bronko Nagurski Trophy & Outland Trophy
Wednesday, July 27: Lou Groza Award & Ray Guy Award
Thursday, July 28: Paul Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
Friday, July 29: Walter Camp Award
Monday, August 1: Bednarik Award