Skip to main content

Former USC Coach Peter Smith Selected As Inductee To 2023 ITA Men's Tennis Hall of Fame

Jul 20, 2022

TEMPE, ARIZ. – The Intercollegiate Tennis Association has announced the 2023 ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame induction class, which includes former USC head coach Peter Smith. Also included in the 2023 class alongside Smith are players Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Mike Franks and Patrick Galbraith, and contributor Brian Hainline.
During Smith's 17 years at the helm of the USC men's tennis program from 2003-2019, he captured a career record of 381-105, while leading the Trojans to five NCAA team championships, including four straight from 2009-12. Over his tenure with the Trojans, Smith was twice named the ITA National Coach of the Year and was a five-time Pac-12 Coach of the Year. Also on his watch, the Trojans claimed 38 ITA All-American awards, two NCAA singles titles (Steve Johnson) and one NCAA doubles crown (Robert Farah and Kaes Van't Hof). Smith is believed to be the only men's tennis coach to lead four different programs to Top-25 Rankings and to lead three schools to the Quarterfinals of the NCAA Team Tournament and Top-5 Rankings (USC, Pepperdine, Fresno State).

Smith's induction makes him the 21st USC men's tennis representative in the ITA Men's Tennis Hall of Fame. He is the third USC men's coach to be inducted, following in the footsteps of his USC predecessors Dick Leach and George Toley.

"Wow! Another great class," ITA Chief Executive Officer Dr. Timothy Russell said. "The ITA's Men's College Tennis Hall of Fame Class of 2023 is a reminder of the extraordinary accomplishments achieved by college tennis coaches, players, and contributors to our sport. I am particularly excited that we are returning to inductions following the world-wide pandemic, and that this special induction ceremony will be part of a large celebration of college tennis in May of 2023."

"This is one of the most accomplished classes we've ever had, from the greatest doubles team in tennis history in the Bryan brothers, to one of the best coaches of the modern era in Peter Smith," ITA Collegiate Tennis Men's Hall of Fame Curator John Frierson said. "It's also great to have some doubles stars stepping into the spotlight with the Bryans and Patrick Galbraith, all of whom reached No. 1 in the world. It's a special class and it will be our honor to have them stand alongside the best of the best in the Hall of Fame."

The 2023 ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame Induction will take place in Lake Nona, Fla., during the annual ITA Coaches Convention when the USTA's National Campus hosts the NCAA DI, DII and DI Tennis Championships in May. 

Trojans in ITA Men's Tennis Hall of Fame
Alex Olmedo (P)
Rafael Osuna (P)
Dennis Ralston (P)
George Toley (C)
Bob Lutz (P)
Stan Smith (P)
Bob Falkenburg (P)
Gene Mako (P)
Joe Hunt (P)
Raul Ramirez (P)
Ramsey Earnhart (P)
Rick Leach (P)
Bill Bond (P)
Dick Leach (C)
Robert Van't Hof (P)
Tom Edlefsen (P)
Bruce Manson (P)
Byron Black (P)
Wayne Black (P)
Matt Anger (P)
Peter Smith (C)

(P) — player
(C) — coach