Skip to main content

Matthew Cindric Named To Rimington Trophy Preseason Watch List

Jul 22, 2022
Matthew Cindric has been named to the preseason watch list for the Rimington Trophy given annually to the nation's top center for the first time in his career.

NEW YORK – Cal's Matthew Cindric was named to the Rimington Trophy Preseason Watch List on Friday for the first time in his career. The Rimington Trophy committee worked with Pro Football Focus to select a group of 40. The award honors the honors the nation's most outstanding center and is named after Dave Rimington, a consensus first-team All-American center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982.

Below are notes on Cindric with an extended bio available by clicking on his name.
Matthew Cindric, OL, 6-4, 295, R-Sr., 5th Season At Cal (Sammamish, WA/Skyline HS)
— Has been named to the Rimington Trophy Preseason Watch List and earned Athlon third-team preseason All-Pac-12 honors prior to his 2022 junior campaign from Athlon (third team) and Phil Steele (fourth team)
— Has played in 28 games with 27 starts over the past three seasons with 14 starts at right guard and 13 at center including 11 of 12 contests in his 2021 junior campaign when he earned honorable mention All-Pac-12 honors from the league's coaches
— Helped Cal roll up over 500 total yards of offense in three contests as a 2021 junior (636 at Stanford, 534 vs. Sacramento State, 517 vs. Oregon State) and more than 200 yards rushing on four occasions (352 at Stanford, 255 vs. Oregon State, 246 vs. Sacramento State, 213 vs. Colorado)
— Helped Cal break a Big Game record as a 2021 junior with 636 total yards of offense that were its most since also compiling 636 in a double overtime home win over Oregon in 2016, while the Golden Bears' 352 rushing yards were their most since rushing for 431 against Washington in 2008
The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit and @NCFAA on Twitter to learn more about the association.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 15-day period this month. Sixteen of the association's 25 awards are presenting their preseason watch list during this time as the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.  

Following is the complete 2022 NCFAA preseason watch list calendar.
Monday, July 18: Maxwell Award
Tuesday, July 19: Davey O'Brien Award
Wednesday, July 20: Doak Walker Award
Thursday, July 21: Biletnikoff Award
Friday, July 22: John Mackey Award, Rimington Trophy
Monday, July 25: Butkus Award & Paycom Jim Thorpe Award
Tuesday, July 26: Bronko Nagurski Trophy & Outland Trophy
Wednesday, July 27: Lou Groza Award & Ray Guy Award
Thursday, July 28: Paul Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
Friday, July 29: Walter Camp Award
Monday, August 1: Bednarik Award