Skip to main content

Two Golfers Earn All-America Scholar Honors

Jul 22, 2022

        BOULDER — Two members of the University of Colorado men's golf team were named Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars for the third year in a row, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced this week.
        Seniors Kristoffer Max and John Paterson were both recognized for their accomplishments on and off the course for the 2021-22 collegiate golf season.  They are the first players in CU history to be recognized three times with the honor.
        To be eligible for Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar status an individual must be a sophomore, junior or senior academically and athletically, compete in at least three full years at the collegiate level, participate in 40 percent of his team's competitive rounds, have a stroke average under 76.0 in Division I and maintain at least a 3.2 cumulative grade point average.  Bjorlow and O'Loughlin were "super" seniors, granted an extra year of eligibility due to the pandemic, while Max and Paterson second-time sophomores.
        Max was third on the team in stroke average this past year with a career-best 72.64 figure, while Paterson was fifth (73.75).  Paterson played 105 career rounds for the Buffs (73.36 career average), while Max golfed in 101 (73.92).
        The duo are two of 17 Buffaloes to be afforded the All-America Scholar honor since it was created, with the group honored collectively a total of 30 times.  Max and Paterson broke from a group of seven others who were honored twice: John Luoma (1994-95), Mike Troyer (1994-95), Knut Ekjord (1997-99), Ben Fiala (1999-2000), Stephen Carroll (2002-03), Philip Juel-Berg (2015-16) and John Souza (2017-18).
        "John and Kris have been model student-athletes during their careers at Colorado," CU head coach Roy Edwards. "Earning the All-Scholar award again in 2021-22 is a testament to the quality of both their golf and their academics."