Skip to main content

Flowe, Sewell Named To Butkus Award Watch List

Jul 25, 2022

CHICAGO — Oregon football standouts Justin Flowe and Noah Sewell have both been named to the collegiate preseason watch list for the Butkus Award, presented annually to the top linebacker in the nation.
Sewell is one of three returning semifinalists from 2021 on the 51-player watch list, along with Jack Campbell (Iowa) and DeMarvion Overshown (Texas). Flowe is making his first appearance on the collegiate watch list, but he was the high school Butkus Award winner in 2019 before joining the Ducks.
Oregon is one of seven schools to have multiple linebackers on the preseason watch list. Flowe and Sewell make up two of nine selections from the Pac-12, second-most among conferences behind only the SEC (12).
Entering his third year with the Ducks, Sewell was a first-team all-Pac-12 selection in 2021 after leading Oregon and ranking second in the conference with 114 total tackles. He became the first Duck ever to be named a semifinalist for the Butkus Award, and was also a finalist for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award.
Flowe is also entering his third season at Oregon, but has appeared in just two games so far due to injuries. The former five-star recruit was stellar in his lone game of the 2021 season, earning Pac-12 Freshman of the Week honors afer leading Oregon with 14 tackles, one tackle for loss and a forced fumble in the season opener against Fresno State. His 14 tackles were the most by a UO freshman since Troy Dye in 2016.

2022 Butkus Award Preseason Watch List
Darren Anders, Bowling Green
Jeremy Banks, Tennessee
Micah Baskerville, LSU
Seth Benson, Iowa
JD Bertrand, Notre Dame
Tatum Bethune, Florida State
Troy Brown, Ole Miss
Ben Bywater, BYU
Jack Campbell, Iowa
Levani Damuni, Stanford
KD Davis, North Texas
Mohamoud Diabate, Utah
Jamon Dumas-Johnson, Georgia
Justin Flowe, Oregon
Sherrod Greene, South Carolina
Kyle Harmon, San Jose State
Calvin Hart Jr., Illinois
Daiyan Henley, Washington State
Nick Jackson, Virginia
Jestin Jacobs, Iowa
Carl Jones Jr., UCLA
Mikel Jones, Syracuse
Tyrice Knight, UTEP
Carlton Martial, Troy
Ventrell Miller, Florida
Jackson Mitchell, UConn
Jaylen Moody, Alabama
Isaiah Moore, N.C. State
Darius Muasau, UCLA
Donavan Mutin, Houston
Anfernee Orji, Vanderbilt
DeMarvion Overshown, Texas
Deshawn Pace, Cincinnati
Ivan Pace, Cincinnati
Owen Pappoe, Auburn
James Patterson, Buffalo
Bumper Pool, Arkansas
Luke Reimer, Nebraska
Merlin Robertson, Arizona State
Noah Sewell, Oregon
Trenton Simpson, Clemson
Isaac Slade-Matautia, SMU
Mariano Sori-Marin, Minnesota
DeAndre Square, Kentucky
Drake Thomas, N.C. State
Henry To'o To'o, Alabama
David Ugwoegbu, Oklahoma
Edefuan Ulofoshio, Washington
Payton Wilgar, BYU
Dorian Williams, Tulane
Dee Winters, TCU