Skip to main content

Four Wildcats Named to Preseason All-Pac-12 Team

Jul 26, 2022

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. – Kyle Ostendorp is selected First-Team All-Pac-12, Jacob Cowing and Kyon Barrs are honored with Second-Team selections, and Christian Roland-Wallace is named honorable mention following a vote among media members.  

 The Wildcats landed four players on the All-Conference list with Ostendorp, Cowing, Barrs, and Roland-Wallace leading the way. It marks repeat appearances for Ostendorp and Barrs after earning all-conference honors following the 2021 season.

Ostendorp (1st Team) was fourth in the nation in 2021, in average punt distance (49.2), leading the Pac-12 last season. He kicked the longest punt of the season, 71 yards against San Diego State on Sept. 11, and punted for 2,852 total yards on his way to 2021 All-Pac-12 First Team honors.

Cowing (2nd Team) was a standout at UTEP prior to transferring to Arizona. He led the Miners in receiving all three seasons, including a 2021 campaign when he finished with 69 receptions for 1,354 yards and seven touchdowns. Cowing was named First Team All-Conference USA honors in 2021 and Second Team recognition in 2020.

Barrs (2nd Team) earned All-Pac-12 Second Team in 2021, after making 33 tackles for loss, and a team-leading five sacks. He finished tied for eighth in the Pac-12 in sacks a season ago. Barrs was named to the Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List yesterday and has made 63 total tackles including 8.0 tackles for loss and 5.0 sacks through 26 games played over three seasons.

Roland-Wallace earned honorable mention after making 48 tackles, good for fourth-most on the team in 2021. Recorded 1.5 sacks marking the first of his career with a half sack against UCLA and a solo sack at Washington State.

Pac-12 Football Media Day will be in Los Angles on Friday, July 29 and seven student-athletes on the First Team will be in attendance.  Three more from the Second Team will be on hand as well as five more who were Honorable Mention.

Click here to see the full Pac-12 football schedule, which kicks off on Thursday, Sept. 1.  


First Team Offense Second Team Offense
QB     *Caleb Williams, USC QB     *Cameron Rising, Utah
RB      Zach Charbonnet, UCLA RB     Travis Dye, USC
RB      Tavion Thomas, Utah   RB      Byron Cardwell, Oregon
WR     Jordan Addison, USC  WR     *Jacob Cowing, Arizona   
WR     Mario Williams, USC          WR     Jake Bobo, UCLA
TE      Brant Kuithe, Utah            TE      Benjamin Yurosek, Stanford
OL      *Jaxson Kirkland, Washington    OL      Joshua Gray, Oregon State
OL      Braeden Daniels, Utah OL      Brett Neilon, USC
OL      *Alex Forsyth, Oregon         OL      Sataoa Laumea, Utah
OL      T.J. Bass, Oregon   OL      Brandon Kipper, Oregon State
OL      Andrew Vorhees, USC         OL      *LaDarius Henderson, Arizona State
First Team Defense  Second Team Defense
DL      Tuli Tuipulotu, USC   DL      Zion Tupuola-Fetui, Washington
DL      Brandon Dorlus, Oregon DL      Junior Tafuna, Utah
DL      *Ron Stone Jr., Washington State DL      Kyon Barrs, Arizona
DL      Van Fillinger, Utah DL      Brett Johnson, California
LB      Noah Sewell, Oregon LB      Merlin Robertson, Arizona State
LB      Omar Speights, Oregon State LB      Justin Flowe, Oregon
LB      Jackson Sirmon, California LB      Darius Muasau, UCLA
DB      *Clark Phillips III, Utah DB      Christian Gonzalez, Oregon
DB      *Kyu Blu Kelly, Stanford DB      Jaydon Grant, Oregon State
DB      Cole Bishop, Utah  DB      Rejzhon Wright, Oregon State
DB      *Daniel Scott, California DB      Mekhi Blackmon, USC
First Team Specialists Second Team Specialists
PK      Dean Janikowski, Washington State PK      Camden Lewis, Oregon
P        Kyle Ostendorp, Arizona P        Luke Loecher, Oregon State
AP/ST Travis Dye, USC AP      Jack Colletto, Oregon State
RS       D.J. Taylor, Arizona State RS       Gary Bryant, Jr., USC

 * Will be representing their school at Pac-12 Media Day.

ALL-PAC-12 HONORABLE MENTION (received votes from four or more members of the media): 

QUARTERBACK: Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA, *Tanner McKee, Stanford

RUNNING BACK: Xazavian Valladay, Arizona State; Damien Moore, California; E.J. Smith, Stanford

WIDE RECEIVER: Gary Bryant, Jr., USC; De'Zhaun Stribling, Washington State; Jalen McMillan, Washington; Elijah Higgins, Stanford; Devaughn Vele, Utah

TIGHT END: Dalton Kincaid, Utah 

OFFENSIVE LINE: Branson Bragg, Stanford; Jake Levengood, Oregon State; Ryan Walk, Oregon; *Matthew Cindric, California; Ben Coleman, California; Walter Rouse, Stanford; *Jon Gaines II, UCLA; Frank Filip, Colorado

DEFENSIVE LINE: Brennan Jackson, Washington State; Popo Aumavae, Oregon; Nick Figueroa, USC; Solomon Byrd, USC; Terrance Lang, Colorado; Jalen Sami, Colorado

LINEBACKER: Mohamoud Diabate, Utah; Korey Foreman, USC; *Kyle Soelle, Arizona State; Levani Damuni, Stanford; Edefuan Olofoshio, Washington; Daiyan Henley, Washington State; Oluwafemi Oladejo, California; Carson Bruener, Washington

DEFENSIVE BACK: Armani Marsh, Washington State; Lu-Magia Hearns III, California; JaTravis Broughton, Utah; Bennett Williams, Oregon; Xavion Alford, USC; *Stephan Blaylock, UCLA; Isaiah Lewis, Colorado; Derrick Langford, Washington State, Christian Roland-Wallace, Arizona; Jamal Hill, Oregon

PLACE KICKER: Everett Hayes, Oregon State; Dario Longhetto, California

PUNTER: Nick Haberer, Washington State; Ryan Sanborn, Stanford

ALL-PURPOSE/SPECIAL TEAMS: Seven McGee, Oregon; Nick Alftin, California; Giles Jackson, Washington 

RETURN SPECIALIST: Brenden Rice, USC; Casey Filkins, Stanford; Nikko Reed, Colorado