Skip to main content

Kyon Barrs Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Jul 26, 2022

DALLAS, Texas – Arizona defensive lineman Kyon Barrs has been named to the Football Writers Association Outland Trophy Watch List, the organization announced today. The 2022 season will close with the award's 77th anniversary and the watch list offer a talented field of 89 athletes to accompany two returning FWAA All-Americans.

Barrs was named All-Pac-12 Second Team in 2021 after making 33 tackles for a loss, and a team-leading five sacks. During his sophomore season, he finished tied for eighth in the Pac-12 in sacks.

The Murrieta, California product was also included on the preseason East-West Shrine Bowl, and the Lott IMPACT Trophy watch lists announced in the last two weeks. During his career with Arizona, he has made 63 total tackles including 8.0 tackles for loss and 5.0 sacks.

Barrs and the Wildcats open the 2022 season on Sept. 3 at San Diego State. Arizona's home opener falls on Sept. 10 against Mississippi State with kickoff at Arizona Stadium set for 8 p.m.

The recipient of the 2022 Outland Trophy will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards, live on ESPN on Thurs., Dec. 8. The official presentation to the winner will be made at the Outland Trophy Awards Dinner sponsored by Werner Enterprises and produced by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee in Omaha, Neb., on Jan. 11, 2023.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

About the Outland Trophy
The Outland Trophy is the third-oldest major college football award. Created in 1946 when Dr. John Outland presented the FWAA with a financial contribution to initiate the award, the Outland Trophy has been given to the best interior lineman in college football ever since. Dr. Outland, an All-American at the University of Pennsylvania in the late 1890s, eventually took up practice in Kansas City, Mo. An avid outdoorsman, Dr. Outland believed linemen did not get the credit they deserved and wanted an award to recognize them.
The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football's most prestigious awards. The NCFAA's 25 awards have honored more than 800 recipients since 1935. Visit for more information.