Skip to main content

Kyle Ostendorp and Tyler Loop Earn Preseason Watch Lists

Jul 27, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz. – Arizona specialists received preseason honors today as Kyle Ostendorp has been placed on the Ray Guy Award watch list, and kicker Tyler Loop has been named to the Lou Groza Award watch list.
Ostendorp earned preseason All-Pac-12 First-Team honors yesterday after earning the All-Pac-12 First-Team recognition following the 2021 season. He was fourth in the nation in average punt distance (49.2), leading the Pac-12 in that category last season. He uncorked his longest punt of the season, 71 yards against San Diego State on Sept. 11, and punted for 2,852 total yards.
Loop became the first player in Arizona history to make their first 10 career kicks (12-for-12), and he was the only Pac-12 kicker to finish 100% on field goals with double-digit attempts last season. Loop kicked a long of 42 yards and led the team in scoring with 48 points in 2021. After spending the 2020 season as the team's primary punter, Loop finished the 2021 season as the PAT and short kick specialist.
The Ray Guy Award winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN in December 2022.
The 31st Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl, recognizes the three finalists during a celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet at the West Palm Beach Marriott on December 5th. 
About the Ray Guy Award (Ostendorp)
The 49 candidates on the list incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) punters. The 2022 watch list was compiled based on the 2021 Ray Guy Award Semifinalist List, the top ten NCAA Punters from 2021, the 2021 All-Conference teams, the 2021 All-American Teams, the 2022 pre-season All-Conference Teams, and eligible punters on the 2021 watch list.
The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens for nominations on July 28. The complete list of candidates will be released on November 2nd. In mid-November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semifinalists, who will be announced on November 8th. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists to be announced on November 18th. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation's top punter.
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native, and College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. Among the statistics used to identify the winner are net punting average, number of times punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponent's 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned with particular emphasis placed on net punting average. The winner must display team leadership, and self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team's success.
About the Lou Groza Award (Loop)
Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award will announce its 20 semifinalists on Thursday, November 3rd. From this list, a panel of more than 100 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, former Groza finalists, and current NFL kickers selects the top three finalists for the award, announced on Tuesday, November 22nd. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Thursday, December 8th during the Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.
The Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.
For more information on the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and to see the "Stars of the Week" throughout the season, please go to For even more updates on the best kicking performances throughout the season, follow @LouGrozaAward on Twitter.