Skip to main content

Cougars to Face Baylor in Pac-12 US LBM Coast-to-Coast Challenge

Aug 1, 2022

PULLMAN, Wash. – Washington State University men's basketball will play Baylor University as part of a quadruple-header in the second-annual Pac-12 US LBM Coast-to-Coast Challenge, Sunday, Dec. 18, at American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas, the Pac-12 Conference announced Monday.
 
The matchup between the Cougars and the Bears is tentatively scheduled to tip off at 7 p.m. PT/9 p.m. CT and will be televised on ESPN or ESPN2. The game will mark the fifth all-time meeting between the programs, with WSU holding a 3-1 advantage in the series. The sides most recently met in the 2010 Diamond Head Classic in Honolulu, Hawaii, where the Cougs beat Baylor 77-71.
 
"Playing Baylor this season gives us an incredible opportunity to see where our program rates against one of the best programs in the country," WSU Head Coach Kyle Smith said. "Baylor has championship DNA and NBA talent all over their roster. It's a testament to the growth of our program that we are even considered for the event."
 
In total, the Pac-12 Coast-to-Coast Challenge will feature four games, two men's and two women's matchups, split over two sessions at the home of the NBA's Dallas Mavericks, NHL's Dallas Stars, and the site of the 2023 NCAA Women's Final Four.
 
The other three matchups of the Coast-to-Coast Challenge start with the morning session, featuring Stanford men's basketball against Texas in the first game of the day at 10 a.m. PT (noon CT), followed by USC's Women of Troy against the Texas women's program at approximately 12:30 p.m. PT (2:30 p.m. CT). In the evening session, the Arizona women's basketball team will tip off against Baylor at 4:30 p.m. PT (6:30 CT) prior to the WSU-Baylor men's game to conclude the event.
 
Among the eight teams slated to compete, six qualified for postseason play in 2022 - five NCAA Tournament participants, including three women's teams that earned top 4 seeds and No. 1 seed Baylor men, in addition to WSU's appearance as a National Invitation Tournament semifinalist.
 
All games are slated to be televised on ESPN networks.
 
Tickets will become available via Ticketmaster in three phases, beginning at 10 a.m. PT/12 p.m. CT on Monday, Aug. 1:

  • Aug. 1-2 - Participating institutions presale
  • Aug. 3-4 - American Airlines Center presale
  • Aug. 5 - General public on sale (8 a.m. PT/10 a.m. CT)

 
2022 PAC-12 US LBM COAST-TO-COAST CHALLENGE AT AMERICAN AIRLINES CENTER – DALLAS, TEXAS
Sunday, Dec. 18, 2022
Session 1
Game 1 - Stanford vs. Texas (men) - ESPN, 10 a.m. PT (Noon CT)
Game 2 - USC vs. Texas (women) - ESPN2, approx. 12:30 p.m. PT (2:30 p.m. CT)
 
Session 2
Game 3 - Arizona vs. Baylor (women) - ESPN2, 4:30 p.m. PT (6:30 p.m. CT)
Game 4 - Washington State vs. Baylor (men) - ESPN/ESPN2, approx. 7 p.m. PT (9 p.m. CT)
 
Tip-off times and TV designations are subject to change