Skip to main content

Sun Devil Soccer’s Nicole Douglas named to United Soccer Coaches Forwards Watch List

Aug 16, 2022

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – United Soccer Coaches today announced Sun Devil Soccer's Nicole Douglas is one of 41 players named to its 2022 Forwards Watch List.
Douglas is one of seven returning women's All-Americans on the list. The lists are being released for the first time this season by the Division I All-America Committees to promote college soccer leading up to the official start date for the regular season later this month. The lists include United Soccer Coaches All-Americans and first or second team All-Region players from 2021, who are scheduled to return for the 2022 season.

"United Soccer Coaches is pleased to be able to bring some additional focus to these outstanding student-athletes from our member schools as pre-season training gets underway," said Ralph Polson, the Senior College All-America Administrator. "While other players will most certainly emerge, these previous honorees represent some of the best at their positions entering this season."
The 2021 NCAA scoring leader, Douglas earned Third-Team All-America honors last season and was one 13 players named to the All-Pac-12 First Team. The first Sun Devil to earn All-America honors since 2002, Douglas set the single-season school records for goals (19) and points (45). She led the nation in goals (19), goals per game (0.95) and points per game (2.25).
A fifth-year player, Douglas enters the 2022 season in second place in program history in career goals (46), career points (109) and career game-winning goals (14) and is tied for seventh in career assists (17). Sun Devil Hall of Famer Stacey Tullock (1998-2001) holds the school record in all four categories: goals (50), points (125), game-winning goals (16) and assists (25).
These positional announcements also lead up to the 2022 watch lists for the prestigious Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy on the official start date for regular season games on August 18 (women) and August 25 (men). The MAC Hermann Trophy is presented annually to the Division I National Players of the Year as voted by Division I College Coaches at the end of the regular season. The 2022 recipients will be announced on January 6, 2023, in St. Louis, Mo.
Under sixth-year head coach Graham Winkworth, the Sun Devils open the 2022 campaign on Thursday (7 p.m. MST) when they host 2021 NCAA participant South Dakota State. Click here to purchase tickets in advance. For questions or assistance, please call Joey Swett at (480) 727-7022 or email