Skip to main content

Fradkin, Tripathi Earn Doubles Title at UCSB Classic

Oct 10, 2022
Head coach Billy Martin, Jeffrey Fradkin and Aadarsh Tripathi

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. – The UCLA men's tennis team earned its first championship of the fall season Sunday, as redshirt sophomore Jeffrey Fradkin and freshman Aadarsh Tripathi collected the 2022 UCSB Classic A Flight doubles crown at Arnhold Tennis Center.

Fradkin and Tripathi, who was making his UCLA debut, earned three wins in three days, capping their weekend with an 8-3 defeat of Joe Leather and Bastiaan Weststrate of Cal Poly in the final. The Bruins' path to the title also included an 8-6 victory versus Redd Owen and Wally Thayne of BYU in the quarterfinal round and an 8-7(7) triumph over Austin Di Giulio and Emin Torlic of Loyola Marymount in the semifinals.

Freshman Azuma Visaya also had a standout performance, reaching the A Flight singles semifinal round in his initial appearance as a Bruin. He downed John Bryan Otico of LMU and Gianluca Brunkow of UC Santa Barbara before falling to eventual champion James Watt of Saint Mary's in three sets.

Fradkin beat Thayne in three sets to open singles play, but was then felled by Pablo Masjuan of UCSB. Junior Stefan Leustian suffered a three-set loss at the hands of Joe Leather of Cal Poly to begin his stay, but the Sacramento, Calif. native bounced back with a win against Ryoma Matsushita of New Mexico. While Tripathi dropped his opener, he would go on to win added matches with Matsushita, Fernando Fonseca of Cal Poly and Lucca Liu of UCSB.

The A Flight doubles draw also included the combination of Leustian and Visaya, which got the better of Matsushita and Georgio Samaha of New Mexico 8-6 in a consolation contest.

Next up for UCLA is the ITA Regional Championships, set for Oct. 19-23 at Ralphs Straus Tennis Center in Malibu, Calif.

UCSB Classic
10/7-10/9/2022 at Santa Barbara, CA (Arnhold Tennis Center)

Singles competition
A Flight
16    Jeffrey Fradkin (UCLA) def. Wally Thayne (BYU) 4-6, 7-5, 7-5
16    Joe Leather (Cal Poly) def. Stefan Leustian (UCLA) 6-3, 4-6, 6-2
16    Azuma Visaya (UCLA) def. John Bryan Otico (Loyola Marymount) 6-1, 6-3
16    Conrad Brown (UC Santa Barbara) def. Aadarsh Tripathi (UCLA) 6-1, 6-3
QF    Pablo Masjuan (UC Santa Barbara) def. Jeffrey Fradkin (UCLA)
QF    Azuma Visaya (UCLA) def. Gianluca Brunkow (UC Santa Barbara)
SF    James Watt (Saint Mary's) def. Azuma Visaya (UCLA) 4-6, 6-1, 6-3
A Flight Consolation
CQF    Stefan Leustian (UCLA) def. Aram Noroozian (New Mexico) 6-1, 6-1
CQF    Aadarsh Tripathi (UCLA) def. Ryoma Matsushita (New Mexico) 6-4, 6-3
CSF    Wally Thayne (BYU) def. Stefan Leustian (UCLA) 6-2, 6-3
CSF    Aadarsh Tripathi (UCLA) def. Fernando Fonseca (Cal Poly) 7-5, 6-3
   Lucca Liu (UC Santa Barbara) def. Jeffrey Fradkin (UCLA) 6-4, 6-3
   Azuma Visaya (UCLA) def. Joe Leather (Cal Poly) 6-3, 6-1
A Flight Extra Match
   Gianluca Brunkow (UC Santa Barbara) def. Stefan Leustian (UCLA) 6-3, 5-7, 1-0 (10-4)
   Aadarsh Tripathi (UCLA) def. Lucca Liu (UC Santa Barbara) 6-4, 6-4
Doubles competition
A Flight
QF    Jeffrey Fradkin/Aadarsh Tripathi (UCLA) def. Redd Owen/Wally Thayne (BYU) 8-6
QF    Joe Leather/Bastiaan Weststrate (Cal Poly) def. Stefan Leustian/Azuma Visaya (UCLA) 8-6
SF    Jeffrey Fradkin/Aadarsh Tripathi (UCLA) def. Austin Di Giulio/Emin Torlic (Loyola Marymount) 8-7 (9-7)
F    Jeffrey Fradkin/Aadarsh Tripathi (UCLA) def. Joe Leather/Bastiaan Weststrate (Cal Poly) 8-3
A Flight Consolation
CSF    Stefan Leustian/Azuma Visaya (UCLA) def. Ryoma Matsushita/Georgio Samaha (New Mexico) 8-6
CF    Thibaud Maxant/James Watt (Saint Mary's) def. Stefan Leustian/Azuma Visaya (UCLA) 8-7 (7-0)