Skip to main content

Cross Country Returns To The Start Line At Wisconsin

Oct 12, 2022

2022 Nuttycombe Wisconsin Invitational
Thomas Zimmer Championship Course
Friday, Oct. 14

"B" Races
Women's 6k - 9 am PT
Men's 8k - 9:40 am PT

Championship Races
Women's 6k - 10:20 am PT
Men's 8k - 11 am PT

Runnerspace Live Video | Live Results

SEATTLE -- It's been more than two weeks of training since the Husky cross country teams opened up the season in Oklahoma, and the Dawgs are set to return to competition in a big way this Friday at the Nuttycombe Wisconsin Invitational. One of the final major regular season invites, the Wisconsin Invitational brings together huge fields with dozens of ranked squads that provide chances to earn head to head wins for postseason qualification purposes.

Held at the Thomas Zimmer Championship Course, race day consists of four races, starting with two "B" events at 9 a.m. and 9:40 a.m. Pacific time. Then the main championship races take place at 10:20 a.m. Pacific (women's 6k) and 11 a.m. Pacific (men's 8k).

Washington heads into the meet ranked 9th on the women's side and 26th on the men's side, but the Dawgs have yet to run full squads and have raced just once back on Sept. 24.

The men's field includes No. 1-ranked BYU, No. 2 Stanford, No. 3 Northern Arizona, No. 6 Wisconsin, No. 8 Colorado, No. 9 Syracuse, No. 10 North Carolina, No. 11 Iowa State, No. 12 Air Force, No. 13 Notre Dame, No. 14 Gonzaga, No. 17 Villanova, No. 20 Harvard, No. 23 Utah State, No. 24 Oregon, No. 27 Michigan State, and No. 28 Georgetown.

The women's field features No. 1 North Carolina State, No. 2 New Mexico, No. 4 Northern Arizona, No. 5 BYU, No. 7 Colorado, No. 8 Stanford, No. 10 Notre Dame, No. 11 North Carolina, No. 12 Utah, No. 13 Georgetown, No. 14 Arkansas, No. 15 Syracuse, No. 16 Providence, No. 17 Michigan State, No. 18 Michigan, No. 19 Utah Valley, No. 21 Oregon, No. 22 Colorado State, No. 24 (tie) Florida State, No. 24 (tie) Furman, No. 28 Wisconsin, No. 30 Harvard.

Huskies traveling on the men's side are Sam Affolder, Leo Daschbach, Sam Ellis, Brian Fay, Isaac Green, Luke HOuser, Ed Trippas, and Joe Waskom. The women are taking a crew of Ella Borsheim, Chloe Foerster, Anna Gibson, Madison Heisterman, Andrea Markezich, Sophia Nordenholz, Sophie O'Sullivan, Naomi Smith, and Carley Thomas.