Skip to main content

Henley Added to Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List

Oct 12, 2022

PHILADELPHIA (Oct. 12, 2022) - Washington State linebacker Daiyan Henley was one of 10 players added to the 2022 Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List, the Maxwell Football Club announced Wednesday.
The Bednarik Award is presented annually to the outstanding defensive player in college football. Henley joins teammate EDGE Ron Stone Jr. who was named to the initial watch list prior to the season.
Henley enters the week second in the Pac-12 Conference with 55 tackles and 10 tackles-for-loss, good for fourth-most in the country. The Los Angeles native is also tied for fourth in the Pac-12 with four sacks and owns a pair of double-digit tackle games this season including a game-high 11 at No. 6 USC last weekend. Following the win over Colorado State week three, Henley earned Bednarik Award, Reese's Senior Bowl and Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Week accolades after making 13 tackles, three sacks and two forced fumbles. Henley earned a criminal justice degree from Nevada and graduate transferred to WSU this past January after earning All-Mountain West Conference second-team honors last season.
Earlier this season, Henley was also added to the Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List, awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.
The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1994 and is named in honor of Chuck "Concrete Charlie" Bednarik who was an All-American player at the University of Pennsylvania and later a multiple year All Pro linebacker and center for the Philadelphia Eagles. He is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame and was the last NFL player to be a full-time player on both offense and defense.
The Bednarik Award watch list will once again incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast, led by Will Anderson Jr. (Alabama) who is the lone returning finalist from 2021, as the majority of this year's candidate group features fresh faces. The full list consists of 90 players with Alabama, Clemson and Georgia having 3 candidates each and an additional 9 schools having two players represented.
Semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced November 1, 2022, while the three finalists for the Bednarik Award will be unveiled November 22, 2022. The winners of the 28th Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on December 8, 2022. The formal presentations of the award will be made at the 86th Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala live from Atlantic City, NJ on March 10, 2023.