Skip to main content

Trenton Bourguet Named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

Oct 13, 2022

Arizona State's Trenton Bourguet Named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week
NEW ORLEANS (October 13, 2022) – Trenton Bourguet, a redshirt junior from Arizona State University, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl's Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting
Bourguet, a former walk-on, comes off the bench in the second quarter for the first significant action of his career and tosses three touchdown passes including the go-ahead delivery in the fourth quarter as the Sun Devils shock No. 21 Washington, 45-38, in Pac-12 play. He went 15-of-21 for 182 yards with one interception.

After a 38-38 tie early in the fourth quarter, the Tucson, AZ, native marched his team down the field for a four and a half minute 82 yard drive that was capped off with his third touchdown pass of the day and the difference maker Sun Devil's victory. The Sun Devils have a bye this weekend. They return to action on Saturday, October 22nd, at Stanford.
The closest competition for Bourguet and his Sun Devil supporters in the Facebook voting contest came from James Madison's Todd Centeio and Kurtis Rourke of Ohio. Centeio completed 28-of-37 passes for 394 yards and four touchdowns, marking his season-best for passing yards, completions, and attempts. He connected on a pair of fourth-quarter touchdowns to lift the undefeated Dukes into the AP Top 25 for the first time in history with a 42-20 Sun Belt road win over Arkansas State. Rourke completed 24-of-27 passes for 427 yards and three touchdowns, notching his fourth 300-yard game of the season. He connected on a pair of third-quarter touchdowns to break open the Bobcats MAC showdown with Akron in a 55-34 win.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 18 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 13 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Bryce Young, Joe Burrow, Mac Jones, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with seven Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. Alabama (B. Young and Jones) joins LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and V. Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.