Skip to main content

UCLA Alumnae Begin NWSL Playoffs Sunday

Oct 15, 2022
OL Reign Bruins Lauren Barnes, Olivia Athens and Marley Canales

Eight UCLA women's soccer alumnae, including two rookies and four members of the Bruins' 2013 NCAA Championship team, have teams participating in the NWSL Playoffs, which begin Sunday, Oct. 16.

OL Reign has the most UCLA representation, with midfielder Olivia Athens (2017-21), defender Lauren Barnes (2007-10) and midfielder Marley Canales (2017-21) playing for the 2022 NWSL Shield and Women's Cup winners. Barnes has played and started in 19 games, Athens has played in eight games with one start and one goal, and Canales has played in four games with one start.

Kansas City has two Bruins on its roster – defender Hailie Mace (2015-18) and midfielder Sam Mewis (2011-14). Mace has started in 17 of 18 games played and ranks fourth on the team with four goals. She was named to the Sept./Oct. NWSL Best XI of the Month. World Cup champion Mewis is on the season-ending injury list.

The 2021 NWSL Defender of the Year Caprice Dydasco (2011-14) is the Bruins' only player on the Houston Dash. She joined the Dash in August via trade with NJ/NY Gotham FC and has played in 18 games total this season. World Cup champion Abby Dahlkemper (2011-14) has played and started in eight games for San Diego Wave FC. Midfielder Sarah Woldmoe (2011-14) is on the Chicago Red Stars roster but has not played this year while on maternity leave.

No. 4 seed Houston Dash will host No. 5 seed Kansas City Current in the first quarterfinal at 2pm PT. The match will be streamed on Paramount+. In the second quarterfinal, No. 3 seed San Diego Wave FC hosts No. 6 seed Chicago Red Stars at Snapdragon Stadium at 7pm PT in a match that will be televised on CBS Sports Network.

The winner of the San Diego-Chicago match will play at No. 2 seed Portland Thorns FC on Sunday, Oct. 23 at 2pm PT, while the Houston-Kansas City winner will face No. 1 seed OL Reign in the semifinals in Seattle on Sunday, Oct. 23 at 4:30pm PT. Both semifinal matches will air live on CBS Sports Network.

The NWSL Championship will air in primetime on CBS on Saturday, Oct. 29 at 5pm PT.