Skip to main content

Four Named to DI West All-Region Team, Jurankova West All-Region Freshman

Oct 18, 2022
From left to right, Heidi, Naomi, Liberty and Amber.

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. Heidi Jurankova, Amber Schlebusch, Liberty Ricca and Naomi Ruff were all named to the West All-Region Team after their performances throughout the season and at the NCAA West Regional Qualifier in Missouri as announced by College Triathlon Coaches Association Tuesday morning. 

Jurankova, the freshman from Czech Republic was also named West All-Region DI Freshman for claiming her first collegiate title at the West Regional Qualifier on Saturday after running a 1:01:14, followed by her teammate Schlebusch who also ran a 1:01:14 for second place.

"I'm proud of all the accomplishments of this team," head coach Cliff English said. "They are really having fun this season and enjoying themselves, it really shows. They strive and drive to excel in every aspect of being a student-athlete."

Ricca and Ruff crossed the finish line together as the pair clocked in at third and fourth for ASU to round out the top five with times of 1:01:57 and 1:02:20 at the West Regional Qualifier.

Sun Devil Triathlon will look to defend its national title as it hosts the 2022 Women's Collegiate Triathlon Championships at the Division I, II and III level on November 12 at Tempe Town Lake.  

For more information regarding the National Championship in November, please click here.

For the latest updates and information on the Sun Devil Triathlon program, follow our Twitter/Instagram accounts (@SunDevilTri), like our Facebook page (, and visit our website (

Regional Championship Athletic Honors Criteria:
All-Region Freshman - Each regional championship will recognize the top TRUE freshman varsity finisher, per division, at each regional championship.

All-Region Team - At each regional qualifier, the athletes will have the opportunity to become a member of the All-Region team by placing in the top 7 in their Division at each of these races.

West All-Region Team
Division I
Heidi Jurankova, Arizona State University
Amber Schlebusch, Arizona State University
Kira Gupta-Baltazar, University of San Francisco
Liberty Ricca, Arizona State University
Naomi Ruff, Arizona State University
Cassandra Dalbec, University of South Dakota
Ella Kubas, University of South Dakota

Division II
Megan Buchanan, Colorado Mesa University
Shannon Feran, Colorado Mesa University
Jayme-Sue Vermaas, Drury University
Natalie Mitchell, Colorado Mesa University
Paloma Suarez-Davila, Colorado Mesa University
Josie Williams, Colorado Mesa University
Torin Lackmann, Colorado Mesa University

Division III
Hailey Poe, North Central College
Amira Faulkner, Trine University
Allí Smith, Trine University
Bethany Smeed, Trine University
Scartlett Schuth, North Central College
Grace Huisman, Trine University
Charlotte Kumler, North Central College

West All-Region Freshmen
Heidi Jurankova, Arizona State University, DI
Josie Williams, Colorado Mesa University, DII
Bethany Smeed, Trine University, DIII

East All-Region Team
Division I

Natalia Hidalgo-Martinez, Queens University of Charlotte
Letizia Martinelli, Queens University of Charlotte
Sam McInnes, Queens University of Charlotte
Weonika Ptaszynska, Queens University of Charlotte
Natalie Bash, Queens University of Charlotte
Kira Ribbing, Queens University of Charlotte
Abby Church, East Tennessee State University

Division II
Julia Kekkonen, Wingate University
Eliska Rihova, Lenior Rhyne University
Dylan Kirchner, Wingate University
Tamara Veltman, Wingate University
Claudia Teran-Romagosa, Lenior Rhyne University
Jule Resselberger, Wingate University
And Kuiper's, Wingate University

Division III
Aly Barnes, Millikin University
Delaney McPherson, Transylvania University
Jenna Weaver, Eastern Mennonite University
Vanessa Gardiner, Eastern Mennonite University
Grayson Bray, Transylvania University
Jessica Backwater, Eastern Mennonite University
Ella Isaacson, Willamette University

East All-Region Freshmen
Letizia Martinelli, Queens University of Charlotte, DI
Eliska Rihova, Lenior Rhyne University, DII
Abbey Staniec, Willamette University, DIII