Skip to main content

Osborne Tabbed to Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Preseason Watch List

Oct 18, 2022

LOS ANGELES – Senior Charisma Osborne has been named to the top 20 watch list for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard of the Year Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) on Tuesday. The award is presented annually to the nation's top shooting guard.
This preseason honor marks the third-straight season in which Osborne has made the watch list for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award. Osborne was a top-10 finalist as a sophomore in 2021 and as a junior in 2022.
The two-time All-Pac 12 honoree finished last season ranked third in the Pac-12 in scoring (16.4 ppg) and in free throw percentage (.875), fourth in assists (108) and fourth in points scored (459). A two-time Pac-12 Player of the Week, Osborne scored in double figures in 25 of the 28 games she played last season with nine 20-point games and three double-doubles to her credit.
About Ann Meyers Drysdale
This award is named for UCLA Women's Basketball legend, Ann Meyers Drysdale. She was the first player, male or female, to earn All-America honors in four straight years (1975-78) and helped lead the Bruins to an AIAW National Championship in 1978. She was the first player drafted into the Women's Basketball League and became the first woman to try out with an NBA team, as she signed a free agent contract with the Indiana Pacers in 1980. She was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 1993 and has had a successful career as an executive in the WNBA. She is currently a Vice President for the Phoenix Mercury and a commentator for the Phoenix Suns.

Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies

Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds starting Friday, October 21. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March the five finalists will be presented to Meyers Drysdale and the Hall of Fame's selection committee where a winner will be selected.
The 2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award winner will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men's Starting Five.
2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Candidates*
Jade Loville, Arizona
Ja'Mee Asberry, Baylor
Celeste Taylor, Duke
Cameron Swartz, Georgia Tech
Sara Scalia, Indiana
Hailey Van Lith, Louisville
Diamond Miller, Maryland
Leigha Brown, Michigan
Jaz Shelley, Nebraska
Jakia Brown-Turner, NC State
Taylor Mikesell, Ohio State
Taylor Robertson, Oklahoma
Zia Cooke, South Carolina
Elena Tsineke, South Florida
Jordan Horston, Tennessee
Sonya Morris, Texas
Charisma Osborne, UCLA
Azzi Fudd, UConn
Ashley Owusu, Virginia Tech
Charlisse Leger-Walker, Washington State
*Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2022-23 season