Skip to main content

Campbell Selected to Bob Cousy Award Watch List

Oct 24, 2022
Tyger Campbell (photo by Don Liebig)

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – UCLA senior Tyger Campbell has been selected to the 20-person watch list for this season's Bob Cousy Award, which honors the nation's best collegiate point guard.
Campbell, a 5-foot-11 guard from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, was chosen last season as one of the award's five finalists. He averaged 11.9 points, a team-best 4.3 assists and 2.5 rebounds per game last season. Campbell was honored as a first-team All-Pac-12 selection for the second consecutive year.
College basketball's annual position-by-position watch lists, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, are being revealed this week, starting with the point guard list on Monday.
Campbell is entering his fifth season in UCLA's program and his fourth year on the court (was injured as a freshman in 2018-19). Through the past three seasons, he has averaged 10.2 points and 4.9 assists through 96 contests (96 starts). Last season, Campbell finished with career-best shooting percentages in overall field goals (44.4%), 3-point shooting (41.0%) and free throw percentage (83.8%).
Through his UCLA career, Campbell has totaled at least 15 points in 20 games and has tallied at least 20 points in six contests. He has registered at least 10 assists in five career games, including a career-high 14 assists in a win against Arizona State during his freshman season (Feb. 27, 2020).
Last season, Campbell became UCLA's first player to assume the primary point guard responsibility for at least three consecutive seasons since Darren Collison (2006-09). He will enter the 2022-23 season with the third-highest career assist-turnover ratio of any returning college player (minimum of 400 career assists). Campbell has registered 469 career assists and 159 turnovers (an assist-turnover ratio of 2.95 to 1).
Campbell and Kentucky's Sahvir Wheeler were both selected as finalists for the Bob Cousy Award last season and are back on the 20-person watch list this fall. Villanova guard Collin Gillespie won the 2022 Bob Cousy Award (and he now plays in the Denver Nuggets' organization).
The 2022-23 season will mark the 20th year in which the Bob Cousy Award recognizes the top point guard in NCAA Division I men's basketball. Named after Hall of Fame inductee Bob Cousy (Class of 1971), a former Boston Celtic standout and guard at Holy Cross University, the Bob Cousy Award was presented to Collin Gillespie of Villanova last season.
College basketball fans can participate in fan voting, presented by Dell Technologies, starting on Friday, Oct. 28. The top 10 player selections from the fan vote will get an additional vote towards making the next round. The list of 20 preseason candidates will narrow to 10 student-athletes in late January. Five finalists will be selected in late February. Those five finalists will be presented in March 2022, before the Hall of Fame's selection committee, where a winner will be selected. The list of Cousy Award candidates remains fluid, as student-athletes have the ability to play themselves on or off the list until the five finalists are announced.
The winner of this season's Bob Cousy Award will be presented on a date (to be determined) along with the other four members of the "men's starting five," including the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award.
For more information on the Bob Cousy Award and all of the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #CousyAward on Twitter and Instagram.
2022-23 Bob Cousy Award Candidates
Jahvon Quinerly (Alabama)
Kerr Kriisa (Arizona)
Wendell Green, Jr. (Auburn)
Isaiah Stevens (Colorado State)
Ryan Nembhard (Creighton)
Antoine Davis (Detroit Mercy)
Jeremy Roach (Duke)
Sahvir Wheeler (Kentucky)
Darius McGhee (Liberty)
Kendric Davis (Memphis)
Caleb Love (North Carolina)
Grant Sherfield (Oklahoma)
Max Abmas (Oral Roberts)
Will Richardson (Oregon)
Yuri Collins (St. Louis)
Mike Miles, Jr. (TCU)
Tyrese Hunter (Texas)
Jordan Walker (UAB)
Tyger Campbell (UCLA)
Kihei Clark (Virginia)