Skip to main content

Kriisa Named To Cousy Award Preseason Watch List

Oct 24, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz.  - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 20 watch-list candidates for the 2023 Bob Cousy Award on Monday and Arizona's junior point guard Kerr Kriisa was among the honorees.
Named after Class of 1971 Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor, now in its 20th year, recognizes the top point guard in Division I men's college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.
Kriisa led the Pac-12 in assists during the 2021-22 season and helped the Wildcats lead the nation in assists per game. He was also posted an assist-to-turnover ratio of 2.15, which was among the best in the conference and the country. The native of Estonia averaged 9.7 points, 4.2 assists, 2.5 rebounds and shot 81.6% from the free throw line. On Feb. 24, he posted the 10th triple-double in Arizona history by going for 21 points (7-10 3FG), 10 rebounds and 10 assists at Utah.
Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds starting on October 28. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2023 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed to 10, and then in late February to just 5. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee where a winner will be selected. 
The winner of the 2023 Bob Cousy Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard), Julius Erving Award (Small Forward), Karl Malone (Power Forward) and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center), in addition to the Women's Starting Five.
Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Collin Gillespie, Villanova (2022), Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois (2021), Ja Morant, Murray State (2019), Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph's (2004).

For more information on the 2023 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophall and #CousyAward on Twitter and Instagram.
2023 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Preseason List

Jahvon Quinerly Alabama
Jordan Walker UAB
Kerr Kriisa Arizona
Wendell Green, Jr. Auburn
Isaiah Stevens Colorado State
Ryan Nembhard Creighton
Antonie Davis Detroit Mercy
Jeremy Roach Duke
Sahvir Wheeler Kentucky
Darius McGhee Liberty
Kendric Davis Memphis
Caleb Love North Carolina
Grant Sherfield Oklahoma
Max Adams Oral Roberts
Will Richardson Oregon
Yuri Collins St. Louis
Mike Miles, Jr. TCU
Tyrese Hunter Texas
Tyger Campbell UCLA
Kihei Clark Virginia