Skip to main content

2022 Campbell Trophy Finalist

Oct 26, 2022

IRVING, Texas – Stanford senior left tackle Walter Rouse was named a finalist for the prestigious William V. Campbell Trophy® on Wednesday, announced by the National Football Foundation. The Campbell Trophy annually recognizes the best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership.
Rouse becomes Stanford's 15th all-time finalist, including its second straight and third in four years. The Cardinal is the only school with back-to-back finalists, or a finalist three times since 2019.
He looks to become Stanford's first to win the William V. Campbell Trophy®. Stanford's other NFF Scholar-Athletes have been Thomas Booker (2021), Casey Toohill (2019), Jordan Richards (2014), Owen Marecic (2010), Damon Dunn (1997), David Walker (1995), Justin Armour (1994), Glyn Milburn (1992), John Bergren (1983), Darrin Nelson (1981), Milt McColl (1980), Duncan McColl (1976), John Sande III (1970) and John Root (1967).
Rouse is one of 15 members of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, each earning a $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. Rouse will travel to the Bellagio Resort & Casino in Las Vegas for the 64th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Presented by Las Vegas on Dec. 6, where his accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. At the same event, the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2022, inclusive of legendary Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, will be inducted.
Live during the event, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 33rd Campbell Trophy® and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.
A native of Silver Spring, Md., Rouse holds a 3.52 GPA in biomechanical engineering. He has started 35 career games at left tackle for the Cardinal, and has been honored by the Pac-12 for both his play on the field, as well as his performance off.
He is a member of the Stanford Football Leadership Council and an Eagle Scout, and he has interned with the Stanford Archeology Center and the cardiothoracic department of Stanford University Medical Center. He participated in a "Meet the Makers" event on campus, where he designed, fabricated, welded and painted a deadlift bar holder for the Stanford weight room. Rouse speaks regularly about the importance of education, football and priorities at the Emery Heights Community Center, and he serves as a mentor for a local high school athlete, providing him with guidance and encouragement through consistent communication. He has also coached at football clinics and youth football camps, participated in Stanford's Team IMPACT program and read to students during Civic Engagement Day.
"We are extremely proud to announce the finalists for this year's Campbell Trophy®," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Campbell Trophy® recipient) and Eli were NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. "These young men have an unrelenting commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives, and they represent all that is right in college football. As strong leaders in the vein of the trophy's namesake Bill Campbell, they all serve as living examples that the Future For Football is bright. We are excited to honor their hard work and outstanding leadership with postgraduate scholarships."
Submitted by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the Campbell Trophy® must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.
"The NFF Awards Committee did an excellent job in selecting this year's National Scholar-Athletes," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "Chosen from an extremely impressive list of semifinalists, the finalists have undoubtedly distinguished themselves as some of the best student-athletes in the country. Each of these men is a leader on and off the field, and we know that they have only begun to reach their potential."
The trophy is named in honor of the late Bill Campbell, an All-Ivy League player and the captain of Columbia's 1961 Ivy League championship team who found his true calling after an unlikely career change at age 39 from Columbia football coach to advertising executive. His ability to recruit, develop and manage talented executives – all lessons learned on the gridiron – proved to be a critical component of his ability to inspire his business teams to the highest levels of success.
Selected from an impressive list of 156 semifinalists nationwide from among all NCAA divisions and the NAIA, the 15 finalists are:
Jack Campbell, LB – Iowa (3.49 GPA - Enterprise Leadership)
Anders Carlson, PK – Auburn (3.92 GPA - Professional Flight Management)
Jake Chisholm, RB – Dayton (3.98 GPA - Pre-Medicine)
Nicholas D'Ambrose, RB – Chicago [IL] (3.69 GPA - Neuroscience)
Ryan Greenhagen, LB – Fordham (3.85 GPA - Business Administration)
Oso Ifesinachukwu, DL – Yale (3.67 GPA - Biomedical Engineering)
Ahofitu Maka, OL – UTSA (3.78 GPA - Cyber Security)
Adrian Martinez, QB – Kansas State (3.55 GPA - Management)
Peter Oliver, RB – Holy Cross (3.95 GPA - Chemistry & Spanish)
Walter Rouse, OT – Stanford (3.52 GPA - Biomechanical Engineering)
Austin Stidham, OL – Troy (3.92 GPA - Biomedical Sciences)
Julius Wilkerson, LB – Wayne State [MI] (3.85 GPA - Psychology)
Austin Williams, WR – Mississippi State (4.00 GPA - Business Administration)
JR Woods, OL – Johns Hopkins [MD] (3.65 GPA - Economics)
Michael Wozniak, DL – Saint John's [MN] (3.86 GPA - Accounting)