Skip to main content

Jaquez Jr. Named to Julius Erving Award Watch List

Oct 26, 2022
Jaime Jaquez Jr. (photo by Scott Chandler)

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – UCLA senior Jaime Jaquez Jr. has been named to the 20-person watch list for this season's Julius Erving Award, which honors the nation's best small forward.
Jaquez Jr., a 6-foot-7 guard/forward who has starred for the Bruins the past three seasons, was honored as a first-team All-Pac-12 selection in 2021-22. He averaged 13.9 points and a team-best 5.7 rebounds per game as a junior last season. In addition to earning first-team all-conference acclaim, he was one of five players named to the Pac-12 All-Defensive Team (for the second consecutive year).
Hailing from nearby Camarillo, Calif., Jaquez Jr. has averaged 11.8 points and 5.5 rebounds through 97 career games at UCLA (89 starts).
College basketball's annual position-by-position watch lists, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, are being revealed this week. UCLA's Tyger Campbell was listed to the preseason watch list for the Bob Cousy Award (point guard) on Monday and freshman Amari Bailey was named to the watch list for the Jerry West Award (shooting guard) on Tuesday.
The 2022-23 season will mark the ninth year in which the Julius Erving Award recognizes the nation's top small forward. The award honors the contributions of University of Massachusetts standout Julius Erving, who averaged 26.3 points and 20.2 rebounds in his collegiate career. During his professional career, Erving won three championships, four MVP awards and three scoring titles. In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA's 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.
Last season, Duke's Wendell Moore Jr. was the recipient of the Julius Erving Award. Jaquez Jr. was named as one of five finalists last spring for the Julius Erving Award.
College basketball fans can participate in fan voting, presented by Dell Technologies, starting on Friday, Oct. 28. The top 10 player selections from the fan vote will get an additional vote towards making the next round. The list of 20 preseason candidates for the Jerry West Award will narrow to 10 student-athletes in late January. Five finalists will be selected in late February. Those five finalists will be presented in March 2022, before the Hall of Fame's selection committee, where a winner will be selected.
The list of Julius Erving Award candidates remains fluid, as student-athletes have the ability to play themselves on or off the list until the five finalists are announced.
The winner of this season's Julius Erving Award will be presented on a date (to be determined) along with the other four members of the "men's starting five," including the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award.
For more information on the Julius Erving Award and all of the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #ErvingAward on Twitter and Instagram.

2022-23 Julius Erving Award Small Forward of the Year Watch List 

Brandon Miller (Alabama)
Pelle Larsson (Arizona)
Jordan Walsh (Arkansas)
Baylor Scheierman (Creighton)
Dariq Whitehead (Duke)
Matthew Cleveland (Florida State)
Julian Strawther (Gonzaga)
Jalen Wilson (Kansas)
Chris Livingston (Kentucky)
Jamison Battle (Minnesota)
Leaky Black (North Carolina)
Caleb McConnell (Rutgers)
Harrison Ingram (Stanford)
Josiah Jordan-James (Tennessee)
Timmy Allen (Texas)
Kevin Obanor (Texas Tech)
Jaime Jaquez Jr. (UCLA)
Cam Whitmore (Villanova)
Tyler Wahl (Wisconsin)
Colby Jones (Xavier)