Skip to main content

Jayden de Laura Named to Davey O’Brien Class of 2022

Nov 1, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz. – University of Arizona quarterback Jayden de Laura has been named to the Davey O'Brien QB Class of 2022. This designation makes him eligible to be voted one of 16 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. The winner will be determined by a fan vote on the official Davey O'Brien social media channels.

Four days after being named to The Manning Award watch list, de Laura is among 40 quarterbacks nationwide that have been selected to the Davey O'Brien QB Class of 2022. The award is the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award in the country. This marks the first Davey O'Brien QB Award nomination of his career.

De Laura is 5th in the nation in passing yards (2,654) and total offense (346.6) and tied for 6th nationally in passing touchdowns (22). He leads the third-best passing offense and 20th total offense in the nation. The Wildcats average 32.2 points per game, which is good for 47th in the nation. De Laura is 4th in the nation in passing yards per game (331.8), which is good for second in the Pac-12.

The sophomore from Honolulu, Hawaii, has connected with wide receivers Jacob Cowing, Dorian Singer, and Tetairoa McMillan to produce three of the top seven wideouts in the Pac-12 in receiving yards. Cowing is second in yards per game 101.1 and Singer is third (93.3) in the conference. Cowing is tied for first in the Pac-12 with seven receiving touchdowns.

Arizona has recorded four games with over 500 yards of total offense this season in large part due to de Laura's passing and running ability at quarterback.

The Davey O'Brien QB Award fan vote is underway. For the third straight year, voting will take place on @DaveyOBrien Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook accounts. The top five vote-getters on each of the three social media platforms will receive bonus committee votes which will be added to the ballots cast by the National Selection Committee. 

To participate in the fan vote, fans must like the original post highlighting the quarterback on the official @DaveyOBrien social media channels. Each of the three rounds of the selection process (semifinalist, finalist, and winner) will feature the Fan Vote, with vote totals reset prior to each round.

A full breakdown of the Davey O'Brien Award season timeline is below. In addition, the full list of 40 players is below.

De Laura and the Wildcats will face fellow Davey O'Brien Class of 2022 member Cameron Rising and the Utah Utes on Saturday, Nov. 5 in Salt Lake City, Utah. Kick-off is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. on Pac-12 Networks.

Davey O'Brien QB Class of 2022 Announced (Tuesday, Nov. 1) 
Round 1 Fan Vote Open (Tuesday, Nov. 1-Friday, Nov. 11) 
16 Semifinalists Announced (Tuesday, Nov. 15) 
Round 2 Fan Vote Open (Tuesday, Nov. 15-Friday, Nov. 25) 
3 Finalists Announced (Tuesday, Nov. 29) 
Round 3 Fan Vote Open (Tuesday, Nov. 29-Friday, Dec. 2) 
Winner Announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards (Thursday, Dec. 8) 
Davey O'Brien QB Class of 2022

Holton Ahlers, East Carolina
Stetson Bennett, Georgia
Todd Centeio, James Madison
Jayden Daniels, LSU
Jaxson Dart, Ole Miss
Jayden de Laura, Arizona
Tommy DeVito, Illinois
Max Duggan, TCU
Dequan Finn, Toledo 
Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma
Jaren Hall, BYU
Frank Harris, UTSA
Sam Hartman, Wake Forest
Hendon Hooker, Tennessee
KJ Jefferson, Arkansas
Will Levis, Kentucky
Drake Maye, North Carolina
Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina
J.J. McCarthy, Michigan
Tanner Mordecai, SMU
Bo Nix, Oregon
Aidan O'Connell, Purdue
Michael Penix Jr., Washington
John Rhys Plumlee, UCF
Michael Pratt, Tulane
Austin Reed, Western Kentucky
Cameron Rising, Utah
Will Rogers, Mississippi State
Kurtis Rourke, Ohio
Spencer Sanders, Oklahoma State
Garrett Shrader, Syracuse
C.J. Stroud, Ohio State
Taulia Tagovailoa, Maryland
Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA
Jordan Travis, Florida State
Clayton Tune, Houston
D.J. Uiagalelei, Clemson
Kyle Vantrease, Georgia Southern
Caleb Williams, USC
Bryce Young, Alabama