Skip to main content

Miller Elected Into 2022 Southern California Basketball Hall of Fame Class

Nov 1, 2022

LOS ANGELES – Former Runnin' Ute legend Andre Miller was recently elected into the 2022 Southern California Basketball Hall of Fame class on Tuesday the organization announced.
The 2022 hall of fame class is a who's who list of Southern California greats in the sport of basketball that include NBA, WNBA and NCAA Champions. Miller and the 16 other honorees will be honored in a ceremony at a later date in the fall of 2023 along with the 2023 induction class.
The Los Angeles native recently took over the reins of the Grand Rapids Gold, an NBA G League affiliate of the Denver Nuggets. Prior to taking the helm of the Gold, Miller was the head coach at Balboa High School in San Diego.
A former first round draft pick (eighth overall), Miller spent a total of 17 seasons (2000-16) in the Association playing over 1300 games while averaging 12.5 points and 6.5 assists with a career .461 shooting clip. When he retired in 2017, Miller was 11th on the all-time assists list with 8,524 career assists to go with 16,278 career points and 1,546 career steals.
The Verbum Dei High School product closed out his Runnin' Utes (1995-99) career with 1,618 points – which is still tied for 11th all-time. Additionally, Miller still holds the career record in steals with 254 while his 721 career assists still ranks second all-time and 10th all-time in defensive rebounds (454).
Miller, who was an integral member of the 1998 Final Four team at Utah, was inducted in the Utah Crimson Club Hall of Fame in 2014 and was later inducted in the Pac-12 Hall of Honor in 2017. He was a runner-up for the John R. Wooden Award his senior year – which was given out annually to the most outstanding men's and women's college basketball players.
Miller will make his G League head coaching debut with the Grand Rapids Gold on Saturday, Nov. 5, at 5 p.m. (MT) on the road against the Fort Wayne Mad Ants.

Bill Armstrong Stacey Augmon Jay Bilas
Mitchell Butler Michael Cooper Keith Erickson
Nicole Erickson David Greenwood Ebony Hoffman
Andre Miller Eugenia Miller Paul Pierce
Tayshaun Prince Lorenzo Romar Willie West Jr.
Candice Wiggins Steve Fryer (Lifetime Service)

For the latest news and information on the Runnin' Utes men's basketball program, fans can stay connected online at and on social media by following @UtahMBB on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.