Skip to main content

Rowing Races to Bronze Medal Finishes at Head of the American

Nov 2, 2022
Irene and Ellen Ulitsky, UCLA (photo by Don Liebig)

GOLD RIVER, Calif. – The UCLA women's rowing program recorded multiple bronze-medal finishes over the weekend, as the Bruins competed at the Head of the American on Lake Natoma last Saturday.
UCLA's varsity eight crew finished third and the second varsity eight raced to a ninth-place finish (out of 27 total entries). The Bruins' third varsity eight finished 14th, while the fourth varsity eight finished in 17th place. The Bruins' top eight crew raced past Pac-12 competitors Oregon State and Washington State by over 20 seconds.
"In just a few weeks, our athletes have made a lot of progress technically, physically and mentally," UCLA head coach Previn Chandraratna said. "It bodes well for the remaining months. With the team energy feeling alive as ever, things are definitely moving in an exciting direction."
In addition, UCLA recorded third-place and fifth-place finishes, out of 36 entries, in the women's collegiate 2- races.
Among the most notable results for UCLA's rowers included a third-place finish in the 2- by senior Olivia Caesar and graduate student Lucy Stratton. Sophomores Olivia Hay and Polly Wenlock finished in fifth place in the 2- competition, racing among 36 different entries.
In the 2- races, Caesar and Stratton posted a raw time of 20.42.0, finishing behind a pair of duos from California. Hay and Wenlock recorded a raw time of 20:48.2 in their fifth-place finish.
UCLA's V8+ crew posted a raw time of 17:01.0, while the 2V8+ boat finished in 17:37.90.
UCLA's Racing Lineups
Varsity Eight: Olivia Hay (stroke), Irene Ulitsky (7), Ellen Ulitsky (6), Lucy Stratton (5), Mia Glinn (4), Polly Wenlock (3), Rosemary Varney (2), Emily Sutherland (bow), Sofia Papini (coxswain).
Second Varsity Eight: Jane DiLauro (stroke), Ella O'Neil (7), Olivia Caesar (6), Kyla Otway (5), Elsa Couvillon (4), Austyn Sirmon (3), Paige Ortzman (2), Rachel Katz (bow), Ella Van Fleet (coxswain).
Third Varsity Eight: Alex Dessart (stroke), Audrey Loeb (7), Ashley Kraynak (6) Sophie Frey (5), Jade Raby (4), Kamryn Monster (3), Tea Anzur (2), Audrey Petersen (bow), Amelia Cataldi (coxswain).
Fourth Varsity Eight: Danielle DeFrancisci (stroke), Siobhan Lewis (7), Margaux Bomsta (6), Angela Devine (5), Julia Adey (4), Andrea Djuric (3), Sydney Matas (2), Lily Janousek (bow), Clara Kennedy (coxswain).