Skip to main content

Jaquez Jr. Selected to NABC Player of the Year Award Watch List

Nov 3, 2022
Jaime Jaquez Jr. (photo by Scott Chandler)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – UCLA senior Jaime Jaquez Jr. has been named to the preseason watch list for the NABC Player of the Year award, as announced on Thursday by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).
The NABC Player of the Year award is annually selected by a vote of NCAA Division I basketball head coaches. This season's award will be announced during the week of the 2023 Men's Final Four in Houston. The Final Four will take place on April 1 and 3, 2023, at NRG Stadium (Houston).
Jaquez Jr. has earned All-Pac-12 honors the past two seasons, including first-team acclaim as a junior in 2021-22. Last season, he averaged 13.9 points and a team-best 5.7 rebounds per game. He was also listed as one of five players to the Pac-12's All-Defensive Team last season (for the second straight year). Jaquez Jr. was instrumental in helping the Bruins compile a 27-8 record, as UCLA advanced to the NCAA Tournament's Sweet 16.
Hailing from nearby Camarillo, Calif., Jaquez Jr. has averaged 11.8 points and 5.5 rebounds through 97 career games at UCLA (89 starts).
Kentucky's Oscar Tshiebwe won the NABC's Player of the Year award in 2022. Jaquez Jr. is the only player from the Pac-12 to have been named to the NABC's 20-player preseason watch list.
Jaquez Jr.'s other preseason honors have included being selected a first-team (preseason) All-Pac-12 selection and being named to the 20-person watch list for the Julius Erving Award (nation's best small forward).
UCLA will open the regular season against Sacramento State next Monday evening (8:30 p.m., PT). The Bruins will host three consecutive home games – against Sacramento State (Nov. 7), Long Beach State (Nov. 11) and Norfolk State (Nov. 14) – before heading to Las Vegas for the Continental Tire Main Event at T-Mobile Arena.
2023 NABC Player of the Year Award watch list
Max Abmas, Oral Roberts
Armando Bacot, North Carolina
Colin Castleton, Florida
Kendric Davis, Memphis
RJ Davis, North Carolina
Hunter Dickinson, Michigan
Zach Edey, Purdue
Adam Flagler, Baylor
Keyonte George, Baylor
Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana
Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA
Caleb Love, North Carolina
Mike Miles Jr., TCU
Marcus Sasser, Houston
Nick Smith Jr., Arkansas
Adama Sanogo, UConn
Drew Timme, Gonzaga
Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky
Jalen Wilson, Kansas
Isaiah Wong, Miami (Fla.)