Skip to main content

Petchey Advances to Semis at Watanabe Classic

Nov 11, 2022

LAS VEGAS – Junior Myah Petchey advanced to the semifinal round of the Watanabe Classic to highlight the day for the Oregon women's tennis team Friday, as the three-day tournament hosted by UNLV began at the Fertitta Tennis Complex.
Petchey, playing in Flight 1 of the singles bracket, defeated Iowa's Daianne Havashida, 6-2, 3-0 (ret.) in the quarterfinal round. She will take on San Diego State's Andjela Skrobonia Saturday at 11 a.m. PT for a chance to advance to Sunday's final.
Joining Petchey in the event are teammates Lillian Mould, Ares Teixido Garcia and Karin Young, as the four competed in both singles and doubles action Friday.
Petchey, a native of London, England, was the lone Duck to advance to the next round at the Watanabe Classic. Mould fell to UNLV's Salsa Aher 6-4, 6-3, Ares Teixido lost in straight sets to Alicia Melosch 7-5, 6-2 and young lost to Sheena Masuda of Long Beach State 6-4, 6-1.
In Saturday's consolation bracket, Ares Teixido will meet up with the Hawkeyes' Vipasha Mehra at 11 a.m. PT while Mould will also take on an Iowa player in Anya Lamoreaux. Young will draw Aura Fang from UNLV at noon.
Paired together in Flight 1 of the doubles bracket, Mould and Petchey fell in a tiebreaker to Molly Helgesson and Zita Kovacs from host UNLV, 7-6. The pair will match up with Iowa's Samantha Mannix and Marisa Schmidt at 10 a.m. Saturday.
Teixido Garcia and Young were overtaken by Hawkeyes Pia Kranholdt and Anya Lamoreaux in Flight 2, 7-5. The Ducks duo will face Long Beach State's Sarah Medik and Mathilde Tranberg at 10 a.m.
Each singles flight features eight players while each doubles bracket has eight doubles pairs. Semifinal play in both singles and doubles will begin Saturday while championship and consolation finals will take place Sunday.
Molly Helgesson/Zita Kovacs (UNLV)  def. Mayah Petchey/Lillian Mould (UO) 7-6
Peppi Ramstedt/Justine Dondonay (LBSU) def. Samantha Mannix/Marisa Schmidt (Iowa) 6-4
Daianne Hayashida/Vipasha Mehra (Iowa) def. Andjela Skrobonja/Dariya Detkovskaya (SDSU) 7-5
Anastasia Goncharova/Marcela Lopez (Utah) def. Sheena Masuda/Rhona Cook (LBSU) 6-4
Alicia Melosch/Andreea Velcea (SDSU) def. Samantha Horwood/Katya Hersh (Utah) 6-2
Salsa Aher/Aura Fang (UNLV) BYE
Cindy Hu/Coco Zhao (UNLV) def. Sarah Medik/Mathilde Tranberg (LBSU) 6-3
Anaya Lamoreaux/Pia Kranholdt (Iowa) def. Karin Young/Ares Teixido Garcia (UO) 7-5
Molly Helgesson (UNLV) def. Mathilde Tranberg (LBSU) 6-3,7-5
Anastasia Goncharova (Utah) def. Marissa Schmidt (Iowa) 6-2, 6-1
Andjela Skrobonja (SDSU) def. Sarh Medik (LBSU) 6-2, 6-3
Myah Petchey (UO) def. Daianne Hayashida (Iowa) 6-2, 3-0 ret
Dariya Detkovskaya (SDSU) def. Sammantha Mannix (Iowa) 6-3, 3-6, 6-1
Marcela Lopez (Utah) def. Rhona Cook (LBSU) 6-3, 4-6, 6-1
Vipasha Mehra (Iowa) def. Zita Kovacs (UNLV) 6-0, 7-5
Alicia Melosch (SDSU) def. Ares Teixido (UO) 7-5, 6-2
Cindy Hu (UNLV) def. Peppi Ramstedt (LBSU) 6-2, 6-2
Andreea Velcea (SDSU) def. Samantha Horwood (Utah) 7-5, 3-6, 6-4
Justine Dondonay (LBSU) def. Anya Lamoreaux (Iowa) 6-2, 6-3
Salsa Aher (UNLV) def. Lillian Mould (UO) 6-4, 6-3
Coco Zhao (UNLV) BYE
Hana Becirovic Novak (LBSU) def. Katarina Hersh (Utah) 6-3, 4-6, 6-1
Sheena Masuda (LBSU) def. Karin Young (UO) 6-4, 6-1
Pia Kranholdt (Iowa) def. Aura Fang (UNLV) 6-4, 6-7, 7-5