Skip to main content

Jimmie Dougherty Nominated for Broyles Award

Nov 15, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz. – University of Arizona football assistant coach, passing game coordinator, and quarterbacks coach Jimmie Dougherty has been nominated for the Broyles Award. This award honors college football's top assistant coach.

Under Coach Dougherty's leadership, the Wildcats have turned into one of the most dynamic offenses in the country. Arizona leads the nation in big play percentage, sixth in passing offense, 22nd in total offense, and 46th in scoring offense. The Wildcats have improved from 101st nationally in total offense, 69th in passing offense, and 124th in scoring offense following the 2021 season.

Dougherty has mentored quarterback Jayden de Laura into one of the top quarterbacks in the Pac-12 and nationally. De Laura is second in passing yards per game (312.8), tied for third in passing touchdowns (24), and has helped freshman wide out Tetairoa McMillan lead the conference in touchdown receptions (8), as well as transfer Jacob Cowing sit second in touchdown receptions (7) among Pac-12 pass catchers.

Coach Dougherty is in his second season following four seasons at UCLA as passing game coordinator and wide receiver's coach. He helped the Bruins offense finish atop the Pac-12 in total offense in 2020 and second in scoring as a trio of UCLA offensive players earned second-eam all-conference honors.

The 51 nominees in this year's class were selected from approximately 1,500 assistant coaches representing 131 FBS programs across the country. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), broadcasters, a college football hall-of-fame selection committee, and current college head coaches.

The nominees are:
Alabama –     Pete Golding, Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers
Arizona –   Jimmie Dougherty, Passing Game/Quarterbacks
Arkansas – Jimmy Smith, Running Backs
Ball State – Tyler Stockton, Assistant Head Coach/Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers
Baylor – Jeff Grimes, Offensive Coordinator/Tight Ends
Boise State – Spencer Danielson, Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers
Brigham Young University – Fesi Sitake, Passing Game/Wide Receivers
Cincinnati – Mike Brown, Wide Receivers/Passing Game
Coastal Carolina – Skylor Magee, Defensive Line
Duke – Kevin Johns, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
East Carolina – Chris Foster, Running Backs
Florida – Rob Sale, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Florida State – Alex Atkins, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Georgia – Todd Monken, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Georgia Southern – Bryan Ellis, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Illinois – Ryan Walters, Defensive Coordinator
Iowa – Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Back
Iowa State – Jon Heacock, Defensive Coordinator
Kansas – Andy Kotelnicki, Offensive Coordinator/Tight Ends
Kansas State – Joe Klanderman, Defensive Coordinator
Louisville – Bryan Brown, Defensive Coordinator
Louisiana State University – Matt House, Defensive Coordinator
Michigan – Jesse Minter, Defensive Coordinator
Minnesota – Joe Rossi, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
NC State – Tony Gibson, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
North Carolina – Phil Longo, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
North Texas – Mike Bloesch, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Notre Dame – Brian Mason, Special Teams
Ohio – Scott Isphording, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Ohio State – Jim Knowles, Defensive Coordinator/ Linebackers
Ole Miss - Marquel Blackwell, Running Backs
Oregon – Kenny Dillingham, Offensive Coordinator
Oregon State – Trent Bray, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Penn State – Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Rutgers – Joe Harasymiak, Defensive Coordinator
Southern Methodist University – Casey Woods, Offensive Coordinator/Tight Ends
South Carolina – Pete Lembo, Assistant Head Coach/Special Teams
Syracuse – Tony White, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Texas Christian University – Garrett Riley, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Tennessee – Alex Golesh, Offensive Coordinator/Tight Ends
Texas State – Zac Spavital, Defensive Coordinator
Toledo – Vince Kehres, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Troy – Shiel Wood, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
University of Alabama at Birmingham – Blake Shrader, Defensive Backs
University of Central Florida – Travis Williams, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
University of California, Los Angeles – Deshaun Foster, Running Backs
University of Southern California – Shaun Nua, Defensive Line
Utah – Morgan Scalley, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
Wake Forest – Kevin Higgins, Wide Receivers
Washington – Ryan Grubb, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Western Kentucky – Tyson Summers, Defensive Coordinator

A 43-member selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters, and a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semi-finalists, five finalists from the list of nominees, and an overall winner.
Proceeds from the 2022 Broyles Award support the Broyles Foundation's mission to provide a game plan for Alzheimer's caregivers through education, support, and resources. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.
About the Broyles Award
The Broyles Award was created in 1996 to recognizing Coach Frank Broyles' legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his hall of fame career as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.
About the National College Football Awards Association
The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football's most prestigious awards. The NCFAA's 25 awards have honored more than 800 recipients since 1935. Visit for more information.
About the Football Writers Association of America
The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-American team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at