Skip to main content

Thompson-Robinson Selected O'Brien Award Semifinalist

Nov 15, 2022
Dorian Thompson-Robinson (1)

FORT WORTH, Texas – UCLA's Dorian Thompson-Robinson has been selected as a Davey O'Brien Award semifinalist after a tabulation of the results of the National Selection Committee ballots as well as social media fan votes courtesy of the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote.

In alphabetical order, the semifinalists are: Stetson Bennett of Georgia, LSU's Jayden Daniels, Max Duggan of TCU, UTSA's Frank Harris, Sam Hartman of Wake Forest, Tennessee's Hendon Hooker, Drake Maye of North Carolina, Coastal Carolina's Grayson McCall, J.J. McCarthy of Michigan, SMU's Tanner Mordecai, Bo Nix of Oregon, Washington's Michael Penix Jr., Austin Reed of WKU, Utah's Cameron Rising, Will Rogers of Mississippi State, Ohio's Kurtis Rourke, C.J. Stroud of Ohio State, Thompson-Robinson, Jordan Travis of Florida State, USC's Caleb Williams and Bryce Young of Alabama. The list is comprised of eight seniors, nine juniors, three sophomores and one freshman, and consists of players from nine FBS conferences. The Pac-12 Conference and Southeastern Conference are tied for the most honorees with five apiece.

Thompson-Robinson rates third nationally with a completion percentage of .710 and is 14th in the NCAA in passing efficiency at 160.1. He needs 145 yards of total offense to move past Brett Hundley (2011-14) and become the all-time school record holder. Thompson-Robinson is three total touchdowns (passing, rushing, receiving) shy of passing Hundley (106) to become the all-time school leader in that category. He needs 38 completions to surpass Hundley for the all-time school lead in that category. DTR (9,926) will move into second place on the all-time school passing yards list with 41 more yards and then he takes aim at all-time school leader, Cade McNown, who threw for 10,708 yards in his Bruin career.

The next step in the process will be to select the award's three finalists based on voting from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee as well as the second round of the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote, which will take place on the award's three social media accounts—Instagram, Twitter and Facebook. The top five vote-getters on each platform will receive bonus committee member ballots which will be added to the votes cast by the National Selection Committee.

To participate in the Fan Vote, fans must like the original Davey O'Brien Award post highlighting the respective quarterback. The three finalists will be tabbed on Tuesday, Nov. 29. The winner will be announced live on Thursday, Dec. 8 on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

The Davey O'Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O'Brien Foundation has given away more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. In 1938, O'Brien, who was a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

Remaining Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Timeline

Round 2 - Fan Vote Open (Tuesday, Nov. 15-Friday, Nov. 25)

3 Finalists Announced (Tuesday, Nov. 29)

Round 3 - Fan Vote Open (Tuesday, Nov. 29-Friday, Dec. 2)

Winner Announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards (Thursday, Dec. 8)

2022 Davey O'Brien Award Semifinalists

Stetson Bennett, Georgia, Sr.

Jayden Daniels, LSU, Jr.

Max Duggan, TCU, Sr.

Frank Harris, UTSA, Sr.

Sam Hartman, Wake Forest, Jr.

Hendon Hooker, Tennessee, Sr.

Drake Maye, North Carolina, R-Fr.

Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina, Jr.

J.J. McCarthy, Michigan, So.

Tanner Mordecai, SMU, Sr.

Bo Nix, Oregon, Sr.

Michael Penix Jr., Washington, Jr.

Austin Reed, WKU, Sr.

Cameron Rising, Utah, Jr.

Will Rogers, Mississippi State, Jr.

Kurtis Rourke, Ohio, Jr.

C.J. Stroud, Ohio State, So.

Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA, Sr.

Jordan Travis, Florida State, Jr.

Caleb Williams, USC, So.

Bryce Young, Alabama, Jr.