Skip to main content

Leadership Award

The Pac-12 Conference established the Pac-12 Leadership Award in 2002 to recognize student-athletes who have served on their institutional Student-Athlete Advisory Committees (SAAC) and demonstrated leadership. This Pac-12 Leadership Award is a $3000 scholarship for postgraduate study awarded to one male and one female student-athlete each year.

The Pac-12 Conference Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, which is composed of representatives from each member institution, selects the winners of the award each year from nominations submitted by each campus SAAC.

To be eligible for the award, nominees must have completed their athletics eligibility, be enrolled in or plan to attend graduate school, have been a letterwinner in a varsity sport, and have served a minimum of one year on the campus SAAC. Other factors which may be taken into account during the selection process include other leadership activities, community service, grade point average, service as a SAAC officer, and level of athletic achievement.

Previous Winners

2001-02 Walter Chun, golf, University of California Cicely Clinkenbeard, track & field, Washington State University
2002-03 Janell Bergstrom, softball, University of Oregon Adam Chivara, wrestling, Arizona State University
2003-04 Nikki Neuberger, volleyball, Oregon State University Jason Ranne, basketball, University of Arizona
2004-05 Molly Seaman, gymnastics, University of Washington Emerson Ward, swimming, Arizona State University
2005-06 Darrell Brooks, football, University of Arizona Anna Chappell, basketball, University of Arizona
2006-07 Caleb Kirk, gymnastics, University of California Whitney Myers, swimming, University of Arizona
2007-08 Ingrid Kantola, track & field, UCLA Justin Pollard, swimming, University of California
2008-09 Kyson Bunthuwong, gymnastics, University of California D’Anna Piro, gymnastics, Oregon State University
2009-10 Sean Mustafa Abdul-Hamid, basketball, UCLA Ariane Masschelein, tennis, University of Arizona
2011-12 Greg Woodburn, track & field, USC Leslie Mak, gymnastics, Oregon State University
2012-13 Gareth Gilna, track & field, University of Washington Stephanie McGregor, gymnastics, Oregon State University
2013-14 Robbie Lemon, basketball, Stanford University Erin Menedee, cross country/track & field, University of Arizona
2014-15 Justin Brinkley, track & field, Stanford University Danielle Buchanan, gymnastics, University of Arizona
2015-16 Patrick Woepse, water polo, UCLA Claire Wise, skiing, University of Utah
2016-17 Taylor Ricci, gymnastics, Oregon State University Jack Anderson, baseball, Oregon State University 
2017-18 Matt Salerno, men's swimming, University of Arizona Natalie Modly, lacrosse, University of Oregon
2018-19 Owen Leonard, baseball, Washington State University Shannon Williams, lacrosse, University of Oregon