Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference of Champions
538 NCAA Titles & Counting

Pac-12 Leadership Award

The Pac-12 Conference established the Pac-12 Leadership Award in 2002 to recognize student-athletes who have served on their institutional Student-Athlete Advisory Committees (SAAC) and demonstrated leadership. This Pac-12 Leadership Award is a $3000 scholarship for postgraduate study awarded to one male and one female student-athlete each year.

The Pac-12 Conference Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, which is composed of representatives from each member institution, selects the winners of the award each year from nominations submitted by each campus SAAC.

To be eligible for the award, nominees must have completed their athletics eligibility, be enrolled in or plan to attend graduate school, have been a letter-winner in a varsity sport, and have served a minimum of one year on the campus SAAC. Other factors which may be taken into account during the selection process include other leadership activities, community service, grade point average, service as a SAAC officer, and level of athletic achievement.

Previous Winners

  For a list of previous winners, see below: 
2001-02 Walter Chun, golf, California Cicely Clinkenbeard, track & field, Washington State
2002-03 Adam Chivara, wrestling, Arizona State Janell Bergstrom, softball, Oregon
2003-04 Jason Ranne, basketball, Arizona Nikki Neuberger, volleyball, Oregon State
2004-05 Emerson Ward, swimming, Arizona State Molly Seaman, gymnastics, Washington
2005-06 Darrell Brooks, football, Arizona Anna Chappell, basketball, Arizona
2006-07 Caleb Kirk, gymnastics, California Whitney Myers, swimming, Arizona
2007-08 Justin Pollard, swimming, California Ingrid Kantola, track & field, UCLA
2008-09 Kyson Bunthuwong, gymnastics, California D’Anna Piro, gymnastics, Oregon State
2009-10 Sean Mustafa Abdul-Hamid, basketball, UCLA Ariane Masschelein, tennis, Arizona
2011-12 Greg Woodburn, track & field, USC Leslie Mak, gymnastics, Oregon State
2012-13 Gareth Gilna, track & field, Washington Stephanie McGregor, gymnastics, Oregon State
2013-14 Robbie Lemons, basketball, Stanford Erin Menefee, cross country/track & field, Arizona
2014-15 Justin Brinkley, track & field, Stanford Danielle Buchanan, gymnastics, Arizona
2015-16 Patrick Woepse, water polo, UCLA Clare Wise, skiing, Colorado
2016-17 Jack Anderson, baseball, Oregon State Taylor Ricci, gymnastics, Oregon State
2017-18 Matt Salerno, swimming, Arizona Natalie Modly, lacrosse, Oregon
2018-19 Owen Leonard, baseball, Washington State Shannon Williams, lacrosse, Oregon
2019-20 Winners not selected due to the suspension of competition because of COVID-19. Winners not selected due to the suspension of competition because of COVID-19.
2020-21 Joel Walker, soccer, Oregon State Natalie Robinson, beach volleyball, Washington