Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference of Champions
546 NCAA Titles & Counting

Pac-12 Commissioner George Kliavkoff

George Kliavkoff (pronounced “Klēē-ãv-cough”) assumed the role of Commissioner of the Pac-12 Conference on July 1, 2021.  Kliavkoff was previously president of entertainment and sports for MGM Resorts International, where he was responsible for the operations, finance, strategy, booking, marketing, sponsorships, and ticketing for MGM Resorts' more than 35 theaters, showrooms and arenas, including T-Mobile Arena (home of the NHL Vegas Golden Knights), MGM Grand Garden Arena, Michelob Ultra Arena (formerly the Mandalay Bay Events Center), Mandalay Bay Beach, Park Theater, the Theater at MGM National Harbor and the MassMutual Center at MGM Springfield.

MGM Resorts is one of the largest live events companies in the world, with offerings that include five Cirque du Soleil shows, hundreds of A-list concerts, magic and comedy shows every year, and traditional sporting events including boxing, UFC, college basketball multiple team events and conference championships, rodeo and the WNBA’s Las Vegas Aces.

Kliavkoff also provided strategic leadership and execution for BetMGM, a joint venture between MGM Resorts International and GVC Holdings PLC focused on sports betting and online gaming in the U.S. Kliavkoff served on the Board of BetMGM and oversaw the trading function at MGM Resorts’ 13 domestic race and sports books.

Kliavkoff joined MGM Resorts with more than 20 years of experience in executive roles within media and sports. He previously served as the CEO of Jaunt XR, an augmented and virtual reality start-up, and in executive roles with top media companies, including serving as co-president at Hearst Entertainment & Syndication, president of Hearst Ventures, chief digital officer at NBCUniversal Media and executive vice president of business for Major League Baseball Advanced Media.

Kliavkoff holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from Boston University and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Virginia School of Law.