Skip to main content


Kyle Whittingham wins Pac-12 Coach of the Year after Utah's 11-win season

Dec 9, 2019
Utah's Kyle Whittingham earned Pac-12 Coach of the Year honors after leading Utah to a sterling 11-2 season and an appearance in the Alamo Bowl. The Utes narrowly missed a berth in the College Football Playoff and spent most of the season ranked as a top-10 team. Whittingham becomes the first Utah coach to win a Pac-12 Coach of the Year award since the Utes joined the Pac-12 Conference. He had previously won Mountain West Coach of the Year when Utah went 13-0 in 2008. In 2019, the Utes featured a punishing defense which finished top of the Pac-12 in points per game allowed (13.2), yards per game allowed (256.2), and yards per play allowed (4.4). Whittingham took over head coaching duties for Utah in 2005, making him the third longest tenured active coach in college football.