Skip to main content


UCLA's John Savage wins Pac-12 Coach of the Year honors in 15th year at the helm

May 29, 2019
UCLA's John Savage takes home Pac-12 Coach of the Year honors after leading the Bruins to arguably their best regular season in school history. The Bruins won their 10th all-time Pac-12 title and fourth since Savage became head coach in 2005. The Bruins set new program records for regular season wins with 47 and conference wins with 24. This is just the sixth team in UCLA history to reach 45 wins, and five of those squads have come during the John Savage era. UCLA has been the No. 1 team in the USA Today Coaches poll for 11-straight weeks, the longest stretch in program history, and the unanimous No. 1 team by five national rankings for eight-straight weeks. The Bruins secured the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Championship for just the second time in program history (2015) behind one of the best defenses in the nation.