This week in Pac-12 football

StanfordPhoto.com

Download Complete Release (PDF)

AROUND THE PAC-12...

For Openers... The opening weekend of the college football season saw the Pac-12 post a 10-2 record with road teams going a perfect 3-0…The Pac-12 outscored its opponents by collective margin of 478-213 (average score 39.8-17.8). While half of the Pac-12 teams scored 45 or more points, seven teams limited their opponents to 14 or fewer points…With UCLA’s win at Virgina, the Pac-12 pushed its record in the eastern time zone to 10-3 since 2010.

You Win Some, You Win Some More... The collective non-conference record of the Pac-12 head coaches while at their respective Pac-12 school is 113-30 (79.0%). The collective non-conference record of the Pac-12 head coaches (while at Division I school) stands at 218-94 (69.9%). No Pac-12 coach has a losing record in non-conference play. Four coaches are perfect in non-league action at their school - Arizona’s Rich Rodriguez (9-0), Oregon’s Mark Helfrich (5-0), USC’s Steve Sarkisian (1-0), and Washington’s Chris Petersen (1-0).

Pac-12 QBs Keep Slinging It... As expected, Pac-12 teams went to the air often as the league piled up 4,009 yards (334.1 yards per team) through the air, completing 289-of-459 (63.0%) for 31 TDs. Nine teams each threw for 300 or more yards in their season-opener.  Seven quarterbacks threw for 250 or more yards, led by WASHINGTON STATE’s Connor Halliday with 532 yards (5 TDs). ARIZONA freshman Anu Solomon set an Arizona freshman record with 425 passing yards (4 TDs). USC junior Cody Kessler threw for a career-best 394 yards (4 TDs), while OREGON STATE senior Sean Mannion tallied 328 yards (his 18th 300-plus passing yard game).

The Week Ahead... Conference play begins as No. 13 STANFORD hosts No. 14 USC.

 

This Week’s Pac-12 Football Schedule:

Thurs., Sept. 4

Ranking Game Site Time/TV

44/42

--/--

ARIZONA (0-0)

Texas-San Antonio(1-0)

Alamadome (65,000)

San Antonio, Texas

5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m ET

FOX Sports 1

Fri., Sept. 5

Ranking Game Site Time/TV

--/--

--/--

WASHINGTON STATE (0-1)

NEVADA (1-0)

Mackay Stadium (63,000)

Reno, Nev.

7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET

ESPN

Sat., Sept. 6

Ranking Game  Site  Time/TV

--/--

--/--

Sacramento State (1-0)

CALIFORNIA (1-0)

Memorial Stadium (63,000)

Berkeley, Calif.

12 noon PT/3 p.m. ET

P12N

--/--

--/--

COLORADO (0-1)

UMass (0-1)

Gilette Stadium (63,000)

Foxborough, Mass.

12 noon p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET

ESPN3

--/--

--/--

Fresno State (0-1)

UTAH (1-0)

Rice-Eccles Stadium (45,017)

Salt Lake City, Utah

12 noon PT/3 p.m. ET

P12N

--/--

34/31

Eastern Washington (2-0)

WASHINGTON

(1-0)

Husky Stadium (72,500)

Seattle, Wash.

12 noon PT/3 p.m. ET

P12N

14/14

13/10

USC (1-0)

Stanford (1-0)

Stanford Stadium (50,000)

Stanford, Calif.

12:30 p.m. PT/3:30 p.m. ET

ABC

7/6

3/4

Michigan State (1-0)

OREGON (1-0)

Autzen Stadium (54,000)

Eugene, Ore.

3:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. ET

FOX/FOX Deportes

17/16

--/--

ARIZONA STATE  (1-0)

New Mexico (0-1)

University Stadium (39,224)

Albuquerque, N.M.

4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET

CBSSN

--/t49

11/11

Memphis (1-0)

UCLA (1-0)

Rose Bowl (91,500)

Pasadena, Calif.

7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET

P12N

--/43

--/--

OREGON STATE (1-0)

Hawai'i (0-1)

Aloha Stadium (50,000)

Honolulu, HI

7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET

CBSSN

 

Rankings listed (AP/Coaches poll); * - Win later vacated 

Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
Live
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close