Oregon's Roesler wins Bowerman Trophy

Eric Evans

PHOENIX, Ariz. - OREGON’s Laura Roesler was voted the winner of the 2014 Bowerman Trophy, as announced at the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Convention ceremony this evening. She is the fourth Pac-12 student-athlete and the first since 2010 to win the prestigious award, given to the top collegiate track & field athlete annually. 

Roesler, a native of Fargo, N.D., became the first Oregon female to win The Bowerman. The honor made Oregon the only school in the seven-year history of the award to have both a male and female winner. Roesler won all 800-meter races she finished in during her senior year, also sweeping both the NCAA indoor and outdoor 800-meter events. She also ran a leg of the 4x400 relay that clinched the Ducks their NCAA indoor team title in March and also broke the collegiate record. Roesler finished her career as a 13-time All-American and three-time Pac-12 Champion. 


2009: Galen Rupp, Oregon
2010: Ashton Eaton, Oregon

2009: Jenny Barringer, Colorado
2014: Laura Roesler, Oregon

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder