Skip to main content

Pac-12 announces women’s soccer All-Conference honors

Nov 7, 2017

PAC-12 FORWARD OF THE YEAR: Catarina Macario, Stanford
PAC-12 MIDFIELDER OF THE YEAR: Andi Sullivan, Stanford
PAC-12 DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Tierna Davidson, Stanford
PAC-12 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Catarina Macario, Stanford
PAC-12 GOALKEEPER OF THE YEAR: Emily Boyd, California
PAC-12 COACH OF THE YEAR: Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 Conference announced today the women’s soccer All-Pac-12 honors for the 2017 season, as determined by a polling of the Conference coaches. STANFORD’s Catarina Macario was voted Pac-12 Forward of the Year and Pac-12 Freshman of the Year, Andi Sullivan was named Pac-12 Midfielder of the Year, and Tierna Davidson tabbed Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. California’s Emily Boyd was voted Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Year, and for the eighth time in the last 10 years, Stanford head coach Paul Ratcliffe was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year. The All-Pac-12 and All-Freshman teams were also announced.

Stanford (18-1-0, 11-0-0) captured its third-straight Pac-12 regular season crown with an undefeated league record for the program’s 12th all-time Conference title. The Cardinal are the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament for the team’s 27th postseason appearance. The Cardinal enters the postseason with the country’s best record and best offense, averaging 3.68 goals per game on 25 shots, both of which lead the nation. The squad is on a 16-game win streak, dating back to Aug. 25, and look to continue that momentum into the tournament, which starts this week.

PAC-12 FORWARD OF THE YEAR / PAC-12 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Catarina Macario, F, Stanford

Catarina Macario, a San Diego, Calif., native, led the Cardinal with 14 goals, four of which were game winners, while adding 10 assists for 38 total points. Macario’s impressive individual stats ranks fourth in the country in total points, tied for eight in goals, third in points per game (2.00), and fifth in shots per game (5.32) and shots on goal (2.63). The newcomer was also selected Pac-12 Freshman of the Year where she earned two Pac-12 weekly honors this season. Macario not only leads Stanford in several statistical categories, she also ranks first in the Conference in all eight offensive areas. She was named to the TopDrawerSoccer Preseason Best XI freshman team and helped lead Stanford to its third-straight Pac-12 crown.

PAC-12 MIDFIELDER OF THE YEAR – Andi Sullivan, M, Stanford

Andi Sullivan, (Lorton, Va.) a member of the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Preseason Watch List and the 2017 TopDrawerSoccer Preseason Best XI first team, helped lead the Cardinals number one scoring offense in the country with her strong presence in the midfield. The senior recorded one goal and dished out six assists while competing in 17 games this season. Sullivan contributed to a prolific offense that leads the Conference in goals (69), points (202), goals per game (3.83), assists (64), and shots (437). She also received her third and fourth call-ups to the U.S. Women’s National Team on Oct. 11, 2017 and Oct. 31, 2017 for matches against South Korea and Canada. Sullivan is a four-time first team All-Pac-12 member and was named Pac-12 Player of the Year in 2016 and Pac-12 Freshman of the year in 2014.

PAC-12 DEFENDER OF THE YEAR – Tierna Davidson, D, Stanford

Tierna Davidson (Menlo Park, Calif.), a member of the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Preseason Watch List and the 2017 TopDrawerSoccer Preseason Best XI first team, earns her third-career All-Conference Team selection. This season, Davidson was twice Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Week. The center defender started all 19 games and anchored the Cardinals defense that leads the league in fewest goals allowed (6) and goals against average (0.33). As a sophomore, Davidson has amassed 14 points, scoring 4 goals and adding six assists. She also joined fellow Cardinal on the national stage earning a call-up to the U.S. Women’s National team for matches against New Zealand on Sept. 15 and 19, 2017. Davidson was named second team all-Conference and all freshman team last season.

PAC-12 GOALKEEPER OF THE YEAR – Emily Boyd, GK, California

Emily Boyd leads the defensive charge for the California Bears that went 13-5-1 on the year and 6-4-1 in Pac-12 play for fifth place in the Conference. Boyd was selected to the first team All-Pac-12 for the first time in her career, earning fourth-consecutive all-Conference  selection after making the second team All-Pac-12 (2015, 2016) and Pac-12 All-Freshman Team (2014). Boyd is Cal’s new career shutout leader with 36 clean sheets and also ranks third in the category in Pac-12 history. The senior also ranks 11th in the country with a 0.465 goals against average this season, and seventh in save percentage at 0.894 that also leads the Conference. She earned Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Week honors twice this year for six career weekly awards.  

PAC-12 COACH OF THE YEAR – Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford

For the eighth time in the last 10 years, head coach Paul Ratcliffe was voted Pac-12 Coach of the Year. Ratcliffe led a Cardinal program that earned its 12th all-time Pac-12 title and seventh in the last nine years. His squad earned a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Women's Soccer Championship for the fourth-straight year, posting a 18-1-0 overall record and going 11-0-0 in Pac-12 play. Stanford has the number one scoring offense in the country (3.68) and the best won-loss-tied percentage in the country on the year at .0.947.

First Team

Alex Anthony, USC
Emily Boyd, California
Alana Cook, Stanford
Tierna Davidson, Stanford
Savannah DeMelo, USC
Jessie Fleming, UCLA
Indigo Gibson, California
Catarina Macario, Stanford
Hailie Mace, UCLA
Ally Prisock, USC
Ashley Sanchez, UCLA
Andi Sullivan, Stanford

Second Team
Jaye Boissiere, Stanford
Lainey Burdett, Arizona
Kyra Carusa, Stanford
Jordan Dibiasi, Stanford
Abigail Kim, California
Taylor Kornieck, Colorado
Kaiya McCullough, UCLA
Morgan McGarry, Arizona
Tegan McGrady, Stanford
Leah Pruitt, USC
Paola Van der veen, Utah
Michelle Xiao, Stanford

Third Team
Mackenzie Cerda, UCLA
Ella Dederick, Washington State
Marissa Everett, Oregon
Kelly Fitzgerald, California
Kimberly Keever, Washington
Nicole Molen, USC
Dominique Randle, USC
Becca Rasmussen, Colorado
Emily Smith, California
Gabi Stoian, Arizona
Jalen Tompkins, Colorado
Morgan Weaver, Washington State

All-Freshman Team:
Elyse Bennett, Washington State
Kaylie Collins, USC
Savannah DeMelo, USC
Luca Deza, California
Civana Kuhlmann, Stanford
Catarina Macario, Stanford
Tara McKeown, USC
Kiara Pickett, Stanford
Marty Puketapu, Colorado
Ashley Sanchez, UCLA
Delanie Sheehan, UCLA
Emily Smith, California