Skip to main content

2022 Pac-12 Football Championship Game

Event: Friday, Dec. 2
TV: 5 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. MT on FOX
Allegiant Stadium | Las Vegas, NV

Pac-12 Performance Awards, presented by Nextiva - Football Week 1

Sep 6, 2022

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 today announced its 2022 football season's first weekly performance awards, presented by Nextiva. See below for Week 1's recognitions across the Conference and keep track of the 2022 Offensive Player of the Year watchlist here:

OFFENSE:  Jayden de Laura, So., QB, Arizona (Honolulu, Hawai'i)
  • Finished the game with 299 yards and four touchdowns on 29-of-35 passing to help Arizona to a 38-20 win over San Diego State on the road.
  • De Laura's four touchdown passes are the most by an Arizona QB in their Wildcat debut since Anu Solomon threw four against UNLV in 2014.
  • Improved to 6-0 in his collegiate career when throwing 3-plus touchdowns.
  • Helped the Wildcats score 24 points in the first half, marking their most in a game-opening half since scoring 24 in the first half against Stanford in 2019 (L, 31-41), and more points than they scored in 10 games in 2021. Helped Arizona to an 18-point victory, marking their largest margin of victory since beating Northern Arizona 65-41 (24 points) in 2019.
  • Connected with Jacob Cowing three times for touchdowns and freshman Tetairoa McMillan for one TD marking his four touchdown passes.
  • First time winning this award and first time an Arizona player has won since J.J. Taylor in Week 4 of 2018.  de Laura has won the Pac-12 Freshman of the Week twice and was the 2021 Pac-12 Freshman of the Year.

Also nominated: Dorian Thompson-Robinson, QB, UCLA; Caleb Williams, QB, USC; Luke Musgrave, TE, Oregon State; Michael Penix, Jr., QB, Washington; Tavion Thomas, RB, Utah, Jaydn Ott, RB, California; Tanner McKee, QB, Stanford; Xazavian Valladay, RB, Arizona State; Jacob Cowing, WR, Arizona

Check out the 2022 Offensive Player of the Year Watchlist, presented by Nextiva, to learn more. 

DEFENSE:  Jaydon Grant, RS Jr., DB, Oregon State (West Linn, Ore.)
  • Among the OSU team leaders with four tackles in the win over Boise State, OSU's first to open a season since 2015. - Grant, however, added a forced fumble, interception and two pass breakups to his defensive line.
  • The forced fumble stopped a Boise State drive at the OSU 2-yard line. The Beavers not only kept the Broncos from scoring but they recovered the ball and scored on a 98-yard drive to go up 24-0.
  • Grant's interception in the first quarter led to the Beavers' first score of the game. It was his seventh career pick.
  • First time winning this award and first OSU player to win it since Avery Roberts in Week 5 of last season.

Also nominated: Shane Lee, LB, USC; Daiyan Henley, LB, Washington State; Merlin Robertson, LB, Arizona State; R.J. Hubert, S, Utah; Craig Woodson, S, Cal; Jerry Roberts, LB, Arizona; Asa Turner, S, Washington; Kendall Williamson, S, Stanford; Darius Muasau, LB, UCLA

SPECIAL TEAMS:  Carter Brown, Fr., K, Arizona State (Pearland, Texas)
  • The true freshman proved he belonged on the big stage, enjoying a perfect first game in a Sun Devil uniform on Thursday night in Arizona State's 40-3 season opening win over NAU. Brown went 4-for-4 on his field goal attempts and 4-for-4 on extra points, making him responsible for 16 total points.
  • Was the only kicker in the entire FBS to make four field goals during the opening week. Brown nailed kicks from 27 and 36 yards before finishing up with a pair of 44-yard field goals to put the game away in the fourth quarter.
  • Became the first Sun Devil kicker ever with four field goals in his first game. The performance is tied for the fourth-most made field goals in single-game program history since 1996.
  • Led all Pac-12 kickers in scoring by four points, with no other kicker making more than two field goals in the opening week.
  • First Sun Devil to win this award since KR D.J. Taylor won it in the opening week last season and first ASU kicker to win since Cristian Zendejas won in Week 2 of the 2019 season.

Also nominated: Jamieson Sheahan, P, California; Kyle Ostendorp, P, Arizona; Jordan Noyes, K, Utah; Luke Loecher, P, Oregon State; Denis Lynch, PK, USC

OFFENSIVE LINE:  Brandon Kipper, RS Sr., OL, Oregon State (Caldwell, Idaho)
  • Part of an offensive line that helped Oregon State to 470 yards of total offense while not allowing a sack in the win over Boise State.
  • Graded out at 81.9 by PFF and did not allow an opponent pressure.
  • The Beavers won their first season opener since the 2015 season.
  • First time winning this award.  Two OSU players won last year with Nathan Eldridge in Week 4 and Nous Keobounnam in Week 8.

Also nominated: LaDarius Henderson, Arizona State; Sataoa Laumea, Utah; Walter Rouse, Stanford; Spencer Lovell, California; Jordan Morgan, Arizona; Brett Neilon, USC, Jarrett Kingston, Washington State


DEFENSIVE LINE:  Jalen Harris, RS Sr., DE, Arizona (Gilbert, Ariz.)

  • Made a career-high eight tackles (4 solo, 4 assist) and 1.0 sack during Arizona's 38-20 win at San Diego State in Snapdragon Stadium on Saturday.
  • Recorded 1.0 tackle for a loss (sack) of six yards as the defense limited SDSU to 170 yards rushing and just 62 yards passing.
  • The 62 yards passing marked the fewest passing yards allowed since holding Washington to the same mark in 2021.
  • SDSU went 7-for-16 through the air with one interception.
  • Just the second Arizona player to win this award after its inception in 2019.  Kyon Barrs won it Week 10 of last season.

Also nominated:  Brennan Jackson, EDGE, Washington State; James Rawls, DL, Oregon State; Connor O'Toole, DE, Utah; Travez Moore, DE, Arizona State; De'jon Benton, DL, USC; Stephen Herron, EDGE, Stanford

FRESHMAN:  Jaydn Ott, Fr., RB, California (Chino, Calif.)
  • Ott made one of the top debuts in Cal history by rushing for 104 yards on 17 carries and adding another 26 yards on two catches including a touchdown reception in the Golden Bears' season-opening 34-13 win over UC Davis.
  • Became the first Cal player with 100 rushing yards or more in his debut for the school since Shane Vereen had 101 in Cal's 2008 opener against Michigan State, while Ott's 130 yards from scrimmage were the most by a player in his Cal debut since Keenan Allen had 158 in his 2010 debut for the Golden Bears also against UC Davis.
  • Came into Cal as the nation's No. 14 running back (Rivals) in the recruiting class of 2022, a consensus four-star recruit and the MaxPreps Big XIII League Back of the Year as a 2021 senior at Norco High School.
  • First Cal player to win this award since Lu-Magia Hearns III won in Week 12 of last season and first Cal offensive player to win since the award was created in 2019.

Also nominated:  Tetairoa McMillan, WR, Arizona; Raleek Brown, RB, USC; Carter Brown, K, Arizona State; Damien Martinez, RB, Oregon State; Mudia Reuben, WR, Stanford

Date  Offensive Defensive Special Teams Offensive
Defensive Line Freshman
Sept. 6 Jayden de Laura, Arizona Jaydon Grant, Oregon State Carter Brown, Arizona State Brandon Kipper, Oregon State Jalen Harris, Arizona Jaydn Ott, California
Sept. 12