Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Pac-12 Rowing IRA National Championship and NCAA Championship selections solidified

May 16, 2017

SAN FRANCISCO — Four Pac-12 women’s rowing teams were selected for the NCAA Championships and four Pac-12 men’s rowing teams were selected for the IRA National Championships.

The NCAA announced the field for the 2017 NCAA Division I Women’s Rowing Championships today, and four Pac-12 squads were selected. The championships will be held May 26-28 at Mercer Lake in West Windsor, New Jersey, with The Ivy League and the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference serving as hosts.

The women’s NCAA championship is composed of 22 teams. Eleven conferences were awarded automatic qualification and the remaining 11 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the championship field. WASHINGTON received the conferences automatic bid and CALIFORNIA, STANFORD, and WASHINGTON STATE received at-large selections.

Teams qualifying for the championship as an automatic qualifier or as an at-large are required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers.

The Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) has announced the field for the 2017 IRA National Championship. A total of 35 institutions will be represented at this year's regatta on Lake Natoma from June 2 through June 4.

17 Men's Heavyweight programs earned automatic qualification into the regatta, with seven at-large berths being awarded. Washington earned the conferences automatic bid, while OREGON STATE, Stanford, and California were at-large selections.