Skip to main content

Beavers Finish Strong at IRA Championships Finals

May 29, 2021

WEST WINDSOR, N.J. - The No. 16 Oregon State men's rowing team closed out the season with strong finishes from each of the three crews who competed at the finals of the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) National Championships on Saturday.
"You can definitely call this year memorable," said head coach Gabe Winkler. "After the varsity final, after the trailer was loaded, the varsity team shared some of the funny moments from this past year. Even in a COVID-crazy year, we had some laughs. The weather was downright miserable for the racing today but there were plenty of smiles all around."
The started out with the third varsity crew, coxed by Mateo Olmedo, competing in the Petite (B) Final. The crew finished 12th overall with a time of 6:43.430.
"The 3V made the B Final for the first time since the event was included 10 years ago," continued Winkler.
The junior varsity boat continued the historical day with a first-place finish in their final.
"The JV [team] won their final with another come-from-behind effort to continue their excellence this weekend."
Closing the day for the Beavers, the varsity crew finished second in their final. They finished 14th overall, with a time of 6:22.126, to tie their highest finish under head coach Winkler. 
"Everyone, except Jacoby Wilson and Nick Taylor, is returning next year," concluded Winkler. "While our two seniors will be dearly missed, the number of returning athletes means big things are on the horizon. What a year and what a group! Go Beavs!"
V8 - 3rd Level - 2nd (14th overall) - 6:22.126
JV8 - 4th Level - 1st (19th overall) - 6:42.327
3V8 - Petite - 6th (12th overall) - 6:43.430
Coxswain: Ethan deBorja
Stroke: Brian Tames
7: Jacoby Wilson
6: Tristan Gavin
5: Cal Labonski
4: Andrew Balsbaugh
3: Colin Lindquist
2: Nils Patrick
Bow: Ryan Coulter
Coxswain: Drew Riviello
Stroke: Chris Neihoff
7: Ben La Fond
6: Zach Niedermeyer
5: Ryan Ghalayini
4: Tanner Matthews
3: Nathan Purtzer
2: Tristin Vanderlind
Bow: Nick Taylor
Coxswain: Mateo Olmedo
Stroke: William La Fond
7: Samuel Silberstein
6: Isaac Connelly
5: Grant Hemingway
4: Christian Touhey
3: Samuel Foltz
2: Patrick McIntee
Bow: Will Kendall
For more information on the Oregon State men's rowing team, visit or follow the team's official Twitter account at, on Facebook at, or on Instagram at
Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).