Skip to main content

Pac-12 announces 2022 men's soccer postseason awards

Nov 15, 2022

2022 Pac-12 Men's Soccer Player of the Year - Joran Gerbet, Oregon State
2022 Pac-12 Men's Soccer Offensive Player of the Year - Ilijah Paul, Washington
2022 Pac-12 Men's Soccer Defensive Player of the Year - Keegan Hughes, Stanford
2022 Pac-12 Men's Soccer Freshman of the Year - CJ Fodrey, San Diego State
2022 Pac-12 Men's Soccer Coach of the Year - Jamie Clark, Washington

SAN FRANCISCO – The Pac-12 Conference announced today the All-Pac-12 honors for the 2022 men’s soccer season, as selected by a polling of Conference head coaches. League champion WASHINGTON secured a pair of the major awards as Ilijah Paul was voted Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year, while Jamie Clark was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year. OREGON STATE's Joran Gerbet was selected Pac-12 Player of the Year, STANFORD's Keegan Hughes earned Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, and SAN DIEGO STATE's CJ Fodrey was picked Pac-12 Freshman of the Year. In addition to the major awards, the All-Conference teams were also announced.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Joran Gerbet, OREGON STATE (So., M, Valence, France)

Despite totaling just two points in the regular season, Gerbet was the maestro who controlled the pitch as the Beavers' holding midfielder.

The 2021 Pac-12 Freshman of the Year has helped Oregon State to a 7-3-6 record, including 5-0-2 against nationally ranked opponents highlighted by knocking Conference champion and No. 1 Washington from the ranks of the unbeaten in the regular-season finale. His performance against the Huskies, in which UW was shut out for the first time this season, netted him Pac-12 Player of the Week honors.

Gerbet joins a select list of Pac-12 Players of the Year whose impact wasn't measured in points produced; only two recipients have had lower point totals, including just one field player - UCLA midfielder Patrick Ianni (0 points) in 2004, and California goalkeeper Josh Saunders (0) in 2002.

He is the fourth Beaver to be named Pac-12 Player of the Year - Danny Mwanga in 2009, Khiry Shelton in 2014, and former teammate and countryman Sofiane Djeffal in 2021. Additionally, he's just the fifth underclassman to earn the award (Jose Hernandez, UCLA, 2016; Kelyn Rowe, UCLA, 2011; Danny Mwanga, OSU, 2009; Patrick Ianni, UCLA, 2004), and the eighth to win both Pac-12 Player and Freshman of the Year during their careers.


Paul claimed the Pac-12's Golden Boot with a league-leading 11 regular-season goals to earn the second Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year honor following the award's debut in 2021. 

After averaging 34 minutes and recording one assist as a freshman last fall, Paul exploded onto the scene to begin this season - doing the bulk of his damage during non-conference play with nine goals in as many matches.

He also netted a stunning 90th-minute match winner at California for one of his three game-winning goals, and totaled a match-high three points (1g/1a) in UW's Pac-12 title-clinching victory over UCLA.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Keegan Hughes, STANFORD (Sr., D, Heath, Ohio)

The Cardinal's defensive captain has helped the team to a league-high tying nine shutouts and among the fewest total shots allowed (7.8 per match) and shots on goal allowed (2.9 per match) in the Pac-12.

He has also helped the Cardinal's cause with three goals and an assist, including the match winner at UC Santa Barbara and game-deciding assist at California.

Hughes is the sixth Stanford recipient of Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year in the nine years of the award, the first since Tanner Beason in 2018.


Fodrey led all Pac-12 freshmen with 18 points on seven goals and four assists during the regular season.

The 18 points are the most by an Aztec since 2017, and the most by an SDSU freshman since at least 2000.

He becomes only the second recipient of a major Pac-12 award in San Diego State history, joining 2006 Freshman of the Year Nick Cardenas.


After guiding Washington to one of the most dominant seasons in Pac-12 Men's Soccer history, Clark is rewarded with his fourth Pac-12 Coach of the Year honor including the third in the past four seasons (2013, 2019, 2020, 2022).

Clark's Huskies clinched their fourth all-time Pac-12 title, including the third of his 12-year tenure, after just eight league matches, and were within eight minutes of the first unbeaten regular season in Conference history.

Washington received the No. 2 overall national seed in the NCAA Tournament for the second straight season.

2022 Pac-12 Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams


Name Class Pos. School
Clarence Awoudor Fr. F Oregon State
Cam Cilley Sr. M Stanford
CJ Fodrey Fr. F San Diego State
Joran Gerbet So. M Oregon State
Keegan Hughes Sr. D Stanford
Kalani Kossa-Rienzi So. M/D Washington
Lucas Meek R-Sr. M Washington
Ilijah Paul So. F Washington
Nick Scardina Jr. F Washington
Christian Soto Jr. M Washington
Mouhameth Thiam Jr. M Oregon State


Name Class Pos. School
Nonso Adimabua Jr. F California
Javier Armas Jr. M Oregon State
Blake Bowen Sr. M San Diego State
Jacob Castro Jr. GK San Diego State
Gael Gibert Sr. D Oregon State
Nate Jones So. D Washington
Wyatt Meyer Jr. M California
Gio Miglietti Sr. D/F Washington
Tommy Silva Jr. D UCLA
Jose Sosa R-Sr. M UCLA
Keegan Tingey Sr. D Stanford


Name Class Pos. School
Jose Contell R-So. F UCLA
Nate Crockford So. GK UCLA
Shane de Flores R-Fr. M Stanford
Kevin Diaz R-Sr. F UCLA
Pietro Grassi So. D UCLA
Fahmi Ibrahim Sr. F California
Nicklas Lund So. D Oregon State
Chris Meyers So. F/M Washington
Imanol Rosales Jr. M Washington
Iñigo Villaldea Jr. M San Diego State
Dante Williams So. M Oregon State