Skip to main content


Apr 29, 2004

BOULDER - University of Colorado senior Kane Webber was named for the third-time to the All-Big 12 Conference Men's Golf Team, as the league office released the 2003-04 honors Thursday, two days after Texas won its third straight league title.


Webber, a senior, also earned the honor as a freshman in 2000 and a sophomore in 2001.  Only one player in CU history has been named first-team all-conference on four occasions, as Steve Jones was recognized each year between 1978 and 1981.  The only player in addition to Webber to earn the distinction three times is Rick Cramer, as he was so honored in 1979, 1980 and 1982.

"There's no question that Kane has proven that he's one of the best players in our history and with that, has certainly proved that he's one of the best in the conference this year," CU head coach Mark Simpson said.  "I would hope and expect that the honors and accolades continue to roll in for Kane as the season continues, and he has a decent chance to be a first-team All-American depending on how he does in our last three tournaments."

Texas senior Jason Hartwick and head coach John Fields, and Oklahoma freshman Anthony Kim earned season awards on the team, voted on by the league head coaches.  Hartwick was named Big 12 Player of the Year, Kim was voted Newcomer of the Year, and Fields earned his third consecutive selection as Big 12 Coach of the Year.


Webber leads the Buffaloes in all 16 major statistical categories, including stroke average (71.36).   He is second in the conference in stroke average, and has 10 top 20 finishes in 11 tournaments this season, including five in the top 10 and two victories.


2004 All-Big 12 Conference Men's Golf Team

Name, School                                                    Class               Hometown          

Jason Hartwick, Texas                                   Sr                Sacramento, Calif.

Anthony Kim, Oklahoma                              Fr                La Quinta, Calif.

Casey Wittenberg, Oklahoma State            Fr                Memphis, Tenn.

Kane Webber, Colorado                                Sr                Lismore, Australia

Ryan Baca, Baylor                                         Jr                 Richmond, Texas

Alex Noren, Oklahoma State                        Jr                 Stockholm, Sweden

Andrew Dresser, Texas Tech                         So               Carrollton, Texas

Jeff Bell, Texas                                                So               Plano, Texas

Carlos Del Moral, Oklahoma                        Fr                Valencia, Spain

Aaron Watkins, Kansas State                        Sr                Mesa, Ariz.


Coach of the Year: John Fields, Texas

Player of the Year: Jason Hartwick, Texas

Newcomer of the Year: Anthony Kim, Oklahoma