Skip to main content

This year in Pac-12 men's soccer

Dec 12, 2012

By the Pac-12 Conference

Download Complete Release

•WASHINGTON and UCLA earned bids to the NCAA Tournament with the Bruins earning the No. 6 spot and the Huskies grabbing an at-large bid. This was the Huskies first appearance in the tournament since 2007. The Bruins experienced their 30th straight NCAA bid and their 40th appearance overall.

•The Huskies topped Air Force in the first round by a score of 1-0, but fell to Creighton in the second round, 4-2. UCLA received a first round bye and was upset by San Diego in the second round 5-2.

•Ryan Hollingshead, UCLA senior midfielder, had a stand-out senior season and was named both the Pac-12 Player of the Year and the Pac-12 men's soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year. He is the first men's soccer player to earn both awards in the same season.

•UCLA head coach Jorge Salcedo was named Coach of Year for the second year in a row after leading UCLA to an 8-1-1 Conference record and the second Conference championship in as many years.

•STANFORD midfielder Aaron Kovar was named the Freshman of the Year after tallying eight points in 15 games for the Cardinal this season. Kovar was just the second Stanford player to win the Conference Freshman of the Year.

•The Pac-12 has five seniors invited to the 2013 adidas MLS Player Combine, to be held Jan. 11-15 in Ft Lauderdale, Fla. WASH MF Ben Fisk, UCLA MF Ryan Hollingshead, UCLA MF Fernando Monge, WASH D Dylan Tucker-Gangnes and OSU F Emery Welshman are among the 54 college seniors invited to the combine.

•Eleven Pac-12 players were named to the NSCAA Far West All-Region team. Three players were named to the first team, four on the second and four were placed on the third team. UCLA led the Conference with four players selected.

•Hollingshead was named a second team College Soccer News All-American. Grady Howe was named to the College Soccer News All-Freshman team.

•WASH junior goalkeeper Spencer Richey and Hollingshead were named to the second team team of the season. Stanford senior forward Adam Jahn was named to the third team.

•CALIFORNIA senior defender and Hollingshead were named finalists for the Senior CLASS Award. Hollingshead earned first team honors, while Birnbaum was named to the second team.