Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Five Cal Golfers Start U.S. Amateur Monday

Aug 11, 2013

 @CalMensGolfWebsites: U.S. Amateur

BROOKLINE, Mass. – Five Cal golfers are among the 312 players in the starting field at the 113th U.S. Amateur that begins Monday and runs through Sunday at The Country Club. Brandon Hagy, Max Homa, Pace Johnson, Michael Kim and Michael Weaver begin 36 holes of stroke play scheduled for Monday and Tuesday.

The top 64 golfers after two rounds of a stroke play and a playoff if necessary that would happen Wednesday will advance to the first round of match play also slated for Wednesday. The second and third round of match play are scheduled for Thursday, followed by Friday’s quarterfinals, semifinals on Saturday and a 36-hole championship match Sunday.

Cal’s five players equal the number of Golden Bears had in the 2012 U.S. Amateur and are one short of the school record six Cal players in the 2010 event.

Weaver was the runner up at the 2012 U.S. Amateur to earn an invitation to the Masters and an exemption to the U.S. Open in 2013. Hagy made the semifinals, while Homa was in the Round of 32 two years after having reached the quarterfinals in 2010. Kim was in the Round of 64 last year. CAL PLAYERS (First Round and Second Round Pairings and Starting Times)

Monday, August 12, 2013 (First Round)7:25 a.m. ET/4:25 a.m. PT – Pace Johnson w/Adam Ball and Andrew Lister7:45 a.m. ET/4:45 a.m. PT – Michael Kim w/Charlie Danielson and Wilson McDonald7:50 a.m. ET/4:50 a.m. PT – Max Homa w/Nathan Kimsey and Scott Strohmeyer1:20 p.m. ET/10:20 a.m. PT – Michael Weaver w/ Sam Straka and Jeremy Wall1:50 p.m. ET/10:50 a.m. PT – Brandon Hagy w/Joe Kastelic and Blake Snyder

Tuesday, August 13 (Second Round)7:50 a.m. ET/4:50 a.m. PT – Michael Weaver w/ Sam Straka and Jeremy Wall8:20 a.m. ET/5:20 a.m. PT – Brandon Hagy w/Joe Kastelic and Blake Snyder12:25 p.m. ET/9:25 a.m. PT – Pace Johnson w/Adam Ball and Andrew Lister12:45 p.m. ET/9:45 a.m. PT – Michael Kim w/Charlie Danielson and Wilson McDonald1:05 p.m. ET/10:05 a.m. PT – Max Homa w/Nathan Kimsey and Scott Strohmeyer