Skip to main content

Ten Pac-12 baseball players on Golden Spikes Award watch list

Feb 14, 2014
Oregon State Athletics

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — Ten Pac-12 baseball players have been named to USA Baseball’s preseason Golden Spikes Award watch list, USA Baseball announced Friday. The 50-athlete list marks the organization’s first step toward identifying the top amateur baseball player in the country. The Pac-12’s 10 representatives on the watch list is the second most of any conference. OREGON STATE is one of just two schools with four players named to the list.

Representing the Pac-12 on the watch list are the following student athletes (in alphabetical order): David Berg, RHP, Jr., UCLA; Alex Blandino, INF, Jr., STAN; Ryan Burr, RHP, So., ASU; Michael Conforto, OF, Jr., OSU; Dylan Davis, OF, Jr., OSU; Ryan Kellogg, LHP, So., ASU; Andrew Moore, RHP, So., OSU; Kevin Newman, INF, So., ARIZ; Tommy Thorpe, LHP, Jr., ORE; Ben Wetzler, LHP, Sr., OSU.

USA Baseball officials will announce two midseason watch lists—a 50-player list on Thursday, April 10 and a 30-player list on Thursday, May 8. Following these releases, USA Baseball will announce the semifinalists for the 2014 Golden Spikes Award on Tuesday, May 27. The list of semifinalists will then be sent to a voting body consisting of past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of the media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel and current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2014. Tuesday, May 27 marks the day when amateur baseball fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist on As part of this selection process, all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of semifinalists. On Tuesday, June 3, USA Baseball will announce the three finalists, and voting will once again commence that same day.

Former UCLA pitcher Trevor Bauer won the Golden Spikes Award in 2011. Other Pac-12 winners include Tim Lincecum (Washington, 2006) and Terry Francona (Arizona, 1980).

For the complete 2014 Golden Spikes Award watch list, visit