UCLA Earns 10th Straight NCAA Women’s Water Polo Championship Berth

LOS ANGELES, CA -- The second-ranked UCLA women’s water polo team earned the No.2 seed in the NCAA Championship Monday, marking the program’s 10th straight berth into the national championship tournament.

The Bruins (25-4) will play the winner of the UC San Diego-Pomona Pitzer play-in game at Noon on Fri., May 9 at USC’s Uytensu Aquatics Center. This season, the NCAA has selected a 10-team field with the top two seeds playing the winners of the two play-in games. Stanford earned the No. 1 seed.

UCLA will be competing for its eighth NCAA title in women’s water polo and its 12th overall national championship in the sport. The Bruins last won the title in 2009.

Overall, UCLA boasts a 51-8 overall record in the national championship tournament, 28-5 in NCAA Tournament games.

Monday’s selection marks the fifth straight for Head Coach Brandon Brooks, who began his tenure in 2010. He has guided the Bruins to three straight third place finishes and an 8-4 record in the championship. He has been involved in six NCAA titles while at UCLA: two as a player and four as an assistant coach.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder