Skip to main content

Five Pac-12 baseball teams receive NCAA tournament bids

May 26, 2014
WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — ARIZONA STATE, OREGON, OREGON STATE, STANFORD and WASHINGTON have been selected to the 64-team field for the 2014 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, as announced by the NCAA selection committee on Monday.
The Beavers—fresh off winning their second-consecutive Pac-12 title—received the No. 1 overall seed in the tournament and will host a regional in Corvallis for a second-straight year. The other four Pac-12 teams will all travel for their regional rounds with Arizona State in the San Luis Obispo Regional, Oregon in the Nashville Regional, Stanford in the Bloomington Regional and Washington in the Oxford Regional. Play begins Friday, May 30. 
In the Corvallis regional, the top-seeded Beavers (42-12) will open with Summit League Champion North Dakota State (25-24) at 8 p.m. PT on ESPNU. Second-seeded UNLV (35-23) and third-seeded UC Irvine (35-22) round out the rest of the regional. OSU is in the postseason for the ninth time in the last 10 years.
Arizona State (33-22) is the second seed in the San Luis Obispo Regional, hosted by No. 1 seed Cal Poly (45-10). The Sun Devils start off with three-seed Pepperdine (39-16) on Friday at 1 p.m. PT on ESPNU. In the other half of the bracket, the host Mustangs take on fourth-seeded Sacramento State (39-22).
Oregon (42-18) is the No. 2 seed in the Nashville Regional hosted by Vanderbilt, where the Ducks will take on third-seeded Clemson (36-23) at 10 a.m. PT on ESPN3.  Following that game will be host and top-seeded Vanderbilt (41-18) facing fourth-seeded Xavier (29-27).
Stanford (30-23) will head to Bloomington, Ind. as the third seed in the regional hosted by one-seed Indiana (42-13). The Cardinal open up postseason play against two-seed Indiana State (35-16) at 11 a.m. PT on ESPN3. In the other half of the bracket, the top-seeded Hoosiers face Youngstown State (16-36) in the second game in Bloomington on Friday. This will be Stanford’s 29th appearance in the NCAA tournament in the past 34 years under coach Mark Marquess. 
Washington (39-15-1), the Pac-12 runner up, earned the two seed in the Oxford Regional hosted by Ole Miss (41-18). The Huskies will play three-seed Georgia Tech (36-24) at 1 p.m. PT on ESPN3 while No. 1 Mississippi will face fourth-seed Jacksonville State (36-25). UW is making its first appearance in the NCAA postseason since 2004. 
Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled from Friday, May 30, to Monday, June 2 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on on June 2 at approximately 8 p.m. PT.
The 68th Men’s College World Series starts Saturday, June 14, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.