Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Pac-12 women's tennis all-Conference honors announced

May 28, 2014

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pac-12 Conference announced its postseason Women’s Tennis All-Conference awards today. Individually, UCLA’s Robin Anderson was voted Singles Player of the Year, while fellow Bruin Jennifer Brady received Freshman/Newcomer of the Year accolades. The duo also paired up to earn Doubles Team of the Year, while CALIFORNIA’s Amanda Augustus was voted Coach of the Year.  

The Pac-12 Women’s Tennis All-Conference teams consist of a six member first team and a six member second team. Players who are nominated for the All-Conference team, but are not selected are accorded honorable mention status. The teams are voted upon by the Conference’s eight head coaches. 

First Team
Kristie Ahn, Sr., Stanford *
Robin Anderson, Jr., UCLA *
Jennifer Brady, Fr., UCLA *
Zoë Scandalis, Jr., USC
Anett Schutting, Sr., California
Denise Starr, Fr., California
* - unanimous selection

Second Team
Lynn Chi, So., California
Desirae Krawczyk, So., Arizona State
Lacey Smyth, Sr., Arizona
Zsofi Susanyi, Jr., California
Chanelle Van Nguyen, Jr., UCLA
Carol Zhao, Fr., Stanford

Honorable Mention: Tereza Bekerova, Jr., UTAH; Taylor Davidson, Fr., STAN; Klara Fabikova, So., CAL; Krista Hardebeck, So., STAN; Elizaveta Luzina, Jr., WSU; Kyle McPhillips, So., UCLA; Giuliana Olmos, Jr., USC; Sabrina Santamaria, Jr., USC; Stephanie Vlad, So., ASU. 

Singles Player of the Year: Robin Anderson, Jr., UCLA
A three-time first-team All-Pac-12 selection, Anderson is ranked second in the nation in women’s Division I singles play, having been ranked as high as No. 1 earlier this season. Anderson holds an overall record of 34-6 on the season, with a dual record of 21-3 and an unblemished 8-0 mark in Conference play. The junior played at the No. 1 position for the NCAA Champion Bruins all season, with 16 wins over other ranked opponents including victories over top-ranked Jamie Loeb of North Carolina and then-No. 3 Kristie Ahn of Stanford. Anderson advanced to the round of 16 in the NCAA Singles Championships before falling to Danielle Collins of Virginia. Earlier in the season, she advanced to the final round of both the ITA Women’s All-American Championships and the USTA/ITA Indoor Intercollegiate Championships. 

Freshman/Newcomer of the Year: Jennifer Brady, UCLA
Brady, the Pac-12 Singles Champion at the 2014 Conference tournament, finished her freshman campaign with a 39-8 overall record and an undefeated 10-0 mark in Conference play. The freshman competed for the Bruins primarily at the No. 2 spot in dual play, where she held a 14-1 mark. She recorded dual wins in the NCAA team tournament over two ranked opponents to help the Bruins win the NCAA title. Brady made it to the round of 16 at the NCAA Singles Championships, falling to eventual runner-up Lynn Chi of California. 

Doubles Team of the Year: Robin Anderson/Jennifer Brady, UCLA
The duo of Anderson and Brady has been ranked No. 1 in the nation all through the season, holding an overall record of 31-4 and 22-2 in dual play. Anderson and Brady staved off 17 ranked doubles teams throughout the season, including a doubles win over the third-ranked doubles team in the nation in the NCAA Championship title match. They also had two victories over top-20 opponents to win the doubles draws for both the ITA Women’s All-American Championships and the USTA/ITA Division I Women’s Southwest Regional Championship. 

Coach of the Year: Amanda Augustus, California
In her seventh year at the helm for the Golden Bears, Augustus helped lead the Bears to a Pac-12 title, a 10th-place ranking in the final ITA team polls and a berth in the NCAA Championship round of 16. She also produced the NCAA singles runner-up in sophomore Lynn Chi, who claimed all-America honors. Under Augustus, Cal finished with a 20-5 record, including wins over then-No. 6 Georgia, then-No. 3 and eventual NCAA champion UCLA, and then-No. 5 Stanford. The Bears also finished the season with a perfect, 10-0 Conference record.