Skip to main content

Pac-12 names 2013-14 Tom Hansen Conference Medal Winners

Jun 30, 2014

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- The 2013-14 Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medal Winners were announced today. A Conference Medal is awarded annually to each member institution’s outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.

Conference medal winners have been named every year since the 1960-61 academic year. In 2009, the Pac-12 renamed the award the Tom Hansen Conference Medal in honor of Hansen, who retired at the end of June 2009 after serving for 26 years as Commissioner of the Pac-10. 

Following are the 2013-14 award winners:

2013-14 Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medal Winners

School Men Women  
Arizona Lawi Lalang, XC/Track & Field Margo Geer, Swimming & Diving
Arizona State Cory Hahn, Baseball Stephanie Preach, Volleyball
California Brandon Hagy, Golf Alicia Asturias, Gymnastics
Colorado Andreas Haug, Skiing Shalaya Kipp, XC/Track & Field
Oregon Robin Cambier, Tennis Laura Roesler, Track & Field
Oregon State Josh Smith, Soccer Jenna Richardson, Soccer
Stanford Trent Murphy, Football Chiney Ogwumike, Basketball
UCLA Joe Sofia, Soccer Anna Senko, Swimming & Diving
USC Devon Kennard, Football Natalie Hagglund, Volleyball
Utah Ben Tasevac, Tennis Mary Beth Lofgren, Gymnastics
Washington Sam Dommer, Rowing Kaitlin Inglesby, Softball
Washington State Deone Bucannon, Football Micaela Castain, Soccer

On Tuesday, July 1 at 7:00 p.m., Pac-12 Networks will air Pride of the Pac, a one-hour special honoring these 24 recipients of the prestigious Tom Hansen Conference Medal.