2013-14 Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarship winners announced

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Pac-12 Conference Commissioner Larry Scott announced the 48 outstanding Pac-12 student-athletes who have been named recipients of Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarships for the 2013-14 academic year. Each scholarship of $3,000 go to student-athletes with a minimum 3.0 grade point average who have also demonstrated a commitment to continuing education, campus and community involvement, and leadership. Since the program began in 1999, the Pac-12 has awarded over $1.5 million for postgraduate study.

To be selected for a Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarship, a student-athlete must:

• Have an overall undergraduate minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 (based on a 4.00 scale) or its equivalent.
• Be in his/her final season of intercollegiate athletics eligibility in all sports OR be in his/her final year of undergraduate studies, having exhausted athletics eligibility in all sports. The student-athlete will be evaluated on the basis of all academic work completed at time of selection.
• Have performed with distinction as a member of a varsity team. The degree of the student-athlete’s athletic achievement will be weighed at least equally with the degree of academic performance.
• Intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time student in a graduate or professional program at an accredited institution, or in a postgraduate program for which an undergraduate degree is required for admission. 
• Have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.

In 1999, the Pac-12 Conference created a postgraduate scholarship program to honor outstanding student-athletes from its member institutions who also are outstanding scholars. Each Pac-12 institution selects four student-athlete recipients, two men and two women, through its institutional selection process.

Below is the lists of the 2013-14 recipients by institution.

Jeff Amlee, Men's Swimming
Jon Denton-Schneider, Men's Swimming
Erin Menefee, Women's Cross Country
Lacey Smyth, Women's Tennis

Garrett Baker-Slama, Men's Track/Cross Country
Joshua McAlister, Baseball
Bailey Wigness, Softball
Jasmine Roth, Women's Soccer

Mark Brazinski, Football
Emi Lawson, Women's Soccer
Ben Hinshaw, Swimming & Diving
Allison Swartz, Field Hockey

Nathaniel (Nate) Bonsu, Football
Andreas Haug, Men's Skiing
Hayley Hughes, Women's Soccer
Shalaya Kipp, Women's Cross Country/Track & Field

Ben DeJarnette, Men's Track/Cross Country
Robin Cambier, Men's Tennis
Laura Roesler, Women's Track/Cross Country
Caroline Federighi, Women's Lacross

Joshua K. Smith, Men's Soccer
Ross Ellingwood, Men's Crew
Taylin Woods, Volleyball
Taylor Nowlin, Women's Cross Country/Track & Field

Noah Garcia, Men's Diving
Sara James, Women's Basketball
Kyle Meyer, Wrestling
Courtney Verloo, Women's Soccer

Jacob Wood, Cross Country/Track & Field
Aramide Olaniyan, Football
Lauren Baker, Women's Swimming & Diving
Erin Wenzel, Women's Rowing

Ceilidh Meagher, Women's Lacrosse
Michael Godbe, Men's Swimming
Autumn Altamirano, Women's Soccer
Kevin Swick, Baseball

Sean Fitzgerald, Football
Mary Beth Lofgren, Women's Gymnastics
McKenzie Odale, Women's Volleyball
Benjamin Tasevac, Men's Tennis

Lindsey Bos, Women's Soccer
Gabriella Parker, Women's Volleyball
Max Manthou, Men's Tennis
Andrew Hudson, Football

Jason Monda, Baseball
Michael Monda, Baseball
Kayla Johnson, Women's Soccer
Delaney Zalud, Women's Soccer

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder