XC’s Houlihan Leads ASU With Third-Place Finish At Wisconsin Invite

MADISON, Wis.—Arizona State cross country’s senior Shelby Houlihan led the No. 25 women’s team with a third-place finish in the 6k race at the Wisconsin Invite at the Thomas Zimmer Cross Country Course.

Houlihan crossed the finish line in 19:41, while as a team, the ASU women finished 16th with 464 points.

The first three places were separated by only six seconds, with Iowa State’s Crystal Nelson winning the race, followed by Michigan State’s Rachele Schulist in 19:39. With each of its scorers in the top-35, Michigan State won the team title with 87 points.

Junior Adriana Olivas finished second for ASU with 86 points with a time of 21:06, while sophomore Jenna Maack finished in 21:08 for 92 points. Freshman Kirsten Olling finished in 21:11, while senior Payton Schutte finished in 22:01 to round out ASU’s scorers with 96 and 187 points, respectively.

The Sun Devils finished ahead of five opponents ranked ahead of them in the USTFCCCA rankings: No. 16 Boise State finished in 17th, No. 24 Darthmouth finished in 19th, No. 17 Boston College finished in 21st, No. 23 Providence finished in 24th, and No. 19 William & Mary finished in 27th.

In the men’s 8k, redshirt junior Ryan Herson led ASU with a time of 24:20 for 46th place, and as a team the men finished 25th overall with 626 points. Last season, Herson was ASU’s No. 2 finisher in 98th-place.

Also for ASU, sophomore Bernie Montoya finished 93rd at 24:36, and redshirt freshman CJ Albertson finished in 137th at 24:56.

Stanford’s Maxim Korolev won the individual title in 23:43, while Syracuse won the team race with a total of 85 points, each of its five scorers finishing in the top-25.

Up next, ASU hosts its first meet since 2010, the ASU Invitational, on Thursday, Oct. 23 at 4 p.m. at the Karsten Golf Course.

Women’s Team:
16. Arizona State—464

3. Shelby Houlihan—19:41
86. Adriana Olivas—21:06
92. Jenna Maack—21:08
96. Kirsten Olling—21:11
187. Payton Schutte—22:01
208. Cristina Juan Torres—22:17
222. Kala Stone—22:24

Women’s Open
27. Anna Long—21:47

Men’s Team
25. Arizona State—626

46. Ryan Herson—24:20
93. Bernie Montoya—24:36
137. CJ Albertson—24:56
172. Daniel Wong—25:11
178. Cody Brazeal—25:13
206. Ryan Norton—25:35
244. Riley Wattier—26:59

Men’s Open
33. Jeff Bickert—25:32

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder